'Something Different' Fruit Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
This is my recipe, and I wanted to mention that YES, at first it can taste salty - you need to let it sit for a few minutes. Salt pulls the juice out of fruits, and when an adequate amount of juice is released it makes a nice sauce without tasting salty. Also, if you buy underripe fruit they wont be very juicy and you wont get a good balance of flavors. Hope this helps anyone else who considers trying this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FYRECRACKER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beckley, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
My boyfriend LOVED this salad. I didn't think he would because of the cayanne pepper; he doesn't like spicy food. But he begs me to make this all the time. I mean every week. I originally made the salad for a Mexican themed Tapas night with his parents and a bunch of their friends and this salad was a big hit. I made the sauce exactly as directed the first time but since I am a little more liberal with the honey and lime and cayenne and it's just as good (I measure mostly by eye and "feel"). I never do more salt as you can definitely taste it in the marinade. I do INSIST however that you make this the day before, it's sooo good that we almost never eat it same day. My typical fruits: canteloupe, honeydew, pineapple (must have), mango, papaya. I also tried strawberries the first time but I insist they get a little too mushy from the marinade and they soak up a bit too much marinade. My other tip: big bite sizes pieces! The first time I diced the pieces small to look more like a fruit salsa but they took on too much marinade and weren't as good. "Chunky" sizes make for the best fruit-marinade ratio. :) Enjoy! This Mexican Fruit Salad is very good any way you slice it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
This was very good. It seemed a bit salty at first, but that mellowed as the salad sat and the juices released. I like the addition of the cayenne--it reminds me of Mexican candy (mango-flavored hard candy coated with chili powder and cayenne), and it's not too spicy at all. I added some honeydew for color and because salt complements melon perfectly. Next time, I'll add mango as well (8/11/07). UPDATE: I eat fruit for breakfast every day, and I've found I can make up a batch of this on Sundays and just keep adding fruit to it throughout the week (my favorite combo is cantaloupe, honeydew, mango, and watermelon)--the juices combine with the dressing and the flavor lasts all week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
Made this for a baby shower at work--apparently I thought the extra heat from the cayenne might induce labor. I loved it--couldn't find any melon, so I subbed in diced pears and apples, I also zested the limes before juicing them, and added a some coconut flakes. It was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noel

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
This is fabulous! A flavorful snack that's great for a hot day. I made it with a nectarine, an apple, ~1.5 cups blueberries, 3 cups watermelon, a can of organic pineapples, half a pound strawberries, and a quarter of a cantelope. Substituted pineapple juice for the honey, added a handful of chopped fresh mint, and left out the salt completely (added it when I ate it if I wanted to) - delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Mexicans always put lime, salt and chile powder on fruit. We wouldn't eat fruit any other way. So the "something different" for me was putting honey in the mix. I cut up 2 mangoes, 1 honeydew, 1 cantalope and 1 pineapple. I did add more lime juice because the honey was a little too sweet for me. And I used chile powder instead of cayenne. This was excellent, everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sunland Park, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Really good. I liked the heat from the cayenne and the salt with the sweet fruit. I cut this down to a couple of servings and I used kosher salt and only a sprinkle of it and about 1/8 tsp (a really good sized pinch) of cayenne. I preferred the flavor this had with the pineapple and mango over the strawberries and grapes. I think maybe the tropical fruits are better suited for this dressing? If you don't like spice, you probably won't like this. It wasn't spicy hot, but had a little warmth to it. This is really similar to my favorite fruit topping of Trecha's brand chile powder for fruit, so if you like that, you'll like this salad. Thanks, I liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
I had really sweet pineapple and watermelon, so I ended up deciding not to use any honey. I did use the full amount of salt though - and it turned out great! Tomorrow I'm going to blend the leftovers with ice for a virgin margarita slushy... Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
I brought this "different" salad to a tailgate with friends. The general consensus was that this was not a win. The cayenne pepper was overwhelming and ruined the fruit. This was a waste of money & an embarrassing contribution to the event.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Definitely something different! I adjusted the "sauce" ingredients for a half recipe, and opted for canned fruit as nothing looked appealing at the grocery store. If doing this, and making a half recipe, reduce the salt to 1/4 tsp. or a pinch or two as the fruit will not release juices to dilute it. I would also use a pinch or two of chile powder next time as it was slightly too hot. It has a nice balance of flavours, sure to be a hit at brunch! I topped it off with some granola for a "crunch" factor. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States