'Something Different' Fruit Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
I took this salad to my parents in laws house (my mother in law is a retired home economic teacher!)and they really liked it saying it was refreshingly different. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sprinda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
This was very different and very good. I decreased the salt back to 1/2 tsp due to hypertension issues and thought it was plenty salty. Would be really good with cantaloupe too. Will definitely add this to my menu on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SeeJeepCrawl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Definitely something different! I adjusted the "sauce" ingredients for a half recipe, and opted for canned fruit as nothing looked appealing at the grocery store. If doing this, and making a half recipe, reduce the salt to 1/4 tsp. or a pinch or two as the fruit will not release juices to dilute it. I would also use a pinch or two of chile powder next time as it was slightly too hot. It has a nice balance of flavours, sure to be a hit at brunch! I topped it off with some granola for a "crunch" factor. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pointe-Claire, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2010
I liked it a lot. For others it was to hot, but that doesn't bother me. I'd make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kathryn

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Nuevo, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
This is definitely something different! It was a great treat for a picnic down by the river! I used cantelope, watermelon, honeydew, grapes and strawberries but wish I'd left the strawberries out. The flavor was best with the melons. As others mentioned, it really does need to set so that it doesn't taste too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
This is fabulous! A flavorful snack that's great for a hot day. I made it with a nectarine, an apple, ~1.5 cups blueberries, 3 cups watermelon, a can of organic pineapples, half a pound strawberries, and a quarter of a cantelope. Substituted pineapple juice for the honey, added a handful of chopped fresh mint, and left out the salt completely (added it when I ate it if I wanted to) - delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
My boyfriend LOVED this salad. I didn't think he would because of the cayanne pepper; he doesn't like spicy food. But he begs me to make this all the time. I mean every week. I originally made the salad for a Mexican themed Tapas night with his parents and a bunch of their friends and this salad was a big hit. I made the sauce exactly as directed the first time but since I am a little more liberal with the honey and lime and cayenne and it's just as good (I measure mostly by eye and "feel"). I never do more salt as you can definitely taste it in the marinade. I do INSIST however that you make this the day before, it's sooo good that we almost never eat it same day. My typical fruits: canteloupe, honeydew, pineapple (must have), mango, papaya. I also tried strawberries the first time but I insist they get a little too mushy from the marinade and they soak up a bit too much marinade. My other tip: big bite sizes pieces! The first time I diced the pieces small to look more like a fruit salsa but they took on too much marinade and weren't as good. "Chunky" sizes make for the best fruit-marinade ratio. :) Enjoy! This Mexican Fruit Salad is very good any way you slice it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
This is delicious. I used half as much honey (I didn't have any more...) and twice as much cayenne pepper, as well as the full amount of salt. For me, it was perfect! I've never really liked fruit salad because I always felt there was something missing. Now I know what it was. ;) As for the fruit, I used strawberries, pineapple, mandarines, and kiwi. I wanted to throw in some blueberries, but they were too expensive. :/ As for the salt, it's definitely not too much. Granted, I eat a lot of salty foods, so in my opinion, salt needs to be added to everything... [edit]: My boyfriend hated it. *sigh* And this is the guy who puts onions on his strawberry ice cream for fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Really good. I liked the heat from the cayenne and the salt with the sweet fruit. I cut this down to a couple of servings and I used kosher salt and only a sprinkle of it and about 1/8 tsp (a really good sized pinch) of cayenne. I preferred the flavor this had with the pineapple and mango over the strawberries and grapes. I think maybe the tropical fruits are better suited for this dressing? If you don't like spice, you probably won't like this. It wasn't spicy hot, but had a little warmth to it. This is really similar to my favorite fruit topping of Trecha's brand chile powder for fruit, so if you like that, you'll like this salad. Thanks, I liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2009
I made this recipe for new years and it was awful. I used half the salt recommended it was still all I could taste, even after I let it sit as recommended. I like fruit salad that has a fresh taste. This just did not do it for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: St. Stephen, New Brunswick, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States