'Something Different' Fruit Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
This is my recipe, and I wanted to mention that YES, at first it can taste salty - you need to let it sit for a few minutes. Salt pulls the juice out of fruits, and when an adequate amount of juice is released it makes a nice sauce without tasting salty. Also, if you buy underripe fruit they wont be very juicy and you wont get a good balance of flavors. Hope this helps anyone else who considers trying this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FYRECRACKER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beckley, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 13, 2014
This was very different and very good. I decreased the salt back to 1/2 tsp due to hypertension issues and thought it was plenty salty. Would be really good with cantaloupe too. Will definitely add this to my menu on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SeeJeepCrawl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
I had this at a party, and it was yummy! The heat of the cayenne is a great balance to the sweetness of the fruit! I'm going to try the same basic concept with different fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
Made this for a baby shower at work--apparently I thought the extra heat from the cayenne might induce labor. I loved it--couldn't find any melon, so I subbed in diced pears and apples, I also zested the limes before juicing them, and added a some coconut flakes. It was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noel

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Mexicans always put lime, salt and chile powder on fruit. We wouldn't eat fruit any other way. So the "something different" for me was putting honey in the mix. I cut up 2 mangoes, 1 honeydew, 1 cantalope and 1 pineapple. I did add more lime juice because the honey was a little too sweet for me. And I used chile powder instead of cayenne. This was excellent, everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sunland Park, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2009
This is definitely something different! It was a great treat for a picnic down by the river! I used cantelope, watermelon, honeydew, grapes and strawberries but wish I'd left the strawberries out. The flavor was best with the melons. As others mentioned, it really does need to set so that it doesn't taste too salty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
My boyfriend LOVED this salad. I didn't think he would because of the cayanne pepper; he doesn't like spicy food. But he begs me to make this all the time. I mean every week. I originally made the salad for a Mexican themed Tapas night with his parents and a bunch of their friends and this salad was a big hit. I made the sauce exactly as directed the first time but since I am a little more liberal with the honey and lime and cayenne and it's just as good (I measure mostly by eye and "feel"). I never do more salt as you can definitely taste it in the marinade. I do INSIST however that you make this the day before, it's sooo good that we almost never eat it same day. My typical fruits: canteloupe, honeydew, pineapple (must have), mango, papaya. I also tried strawberries the first time but I insist they get a little too mushy from the marinade and they soak up a bit too much marinade. My other tip: big bite sizes pieces! The first time I diced the pieces small to look more like a fruit salsa but they took on too much marinade and weren't as good. "Chunky" sizes make for the best fruit-marinade ratio. :) Enjoy! This Mexican Fruit Salad is very good any way you slice it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
This is absolutly the very best fruit salad I have tasted. I took it to Keeno and the group just loved it. Hats off to FYRECRACKER for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Definitely something different! I adjusted the "sauce" ingredients for a half recipe, and opted for canned fruit as nothing looked appealing at the grocery store. If doing this, and making a half recipe, reduce the salt to 1/4 tsp. or a pinch or two as the fruit will not release juices to dilute it. I would also use a pinch or two of chile powder next time as it was slightly too hot. It has a nice balance of flavours, sure to be a hit at brunch! I topped it off with some granola for a "crunch" factor. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
This is fabulous! A flavorful snack that's great for a hot day. I made it with a nectarine, an apple, ~1.5 cups blueberries, 3 cups watermelon, a can of organic pineapples, half a pound strawberries, and a quarter of a cantelope. Substituted pineapple juice for the honey, added a handful of chopped fresh mint, and left out the salt completely (added it when I ate it if I wanted to) - delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Grilled Chicken Salad with Seasonal Fruit

An amazing main dish salad that stars grilled chicken and fresh seasonal fruit.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States