'Something Different' Fruit Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
This is my recipe, and I wanted to mention that YES, at first it can taste salty - you need to let it sit for a few minutes. Salt pulls the juice out of fruits, and when an adequate amount of juice is released it makes a nice sauce without tasting salty. Also, if you buy underripe fruit they wont be very juicy and you wont get a good balance of flavors. Hope this helps anyone else who considers trying this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FYRECRACKER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beckley, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2009
My boyfriend LOVED this salad. I didn't think he would because of the cayanne pepper; he doesn't like spicy food. But he begs me to make this all the time. I mean every week. I originally made the salad for a Mexican themed Tapas night with his parents and a bunch of their friends and this salad was a big hit. I made the sauce exactly as directed the first time but since I am a little more liberal with the honey and lime and cayenne and it's just as good (I measure mostly by eye and "feel"). I never do more salt as you can definitely taste it in the marinade. I do INSIST however that you make this the day before, it's sooo good that we almost never eat it same day. My typical fruits: canteloupe, honeydew, pineapple (must have), mango, papaya. I also tried strawberries the first time but I insist they get a little too mushy from the marinade and they soak up a bit too much marinade. My other tip: big bite sizes pieces! The first time I diced the pieces small to look more like a fruit salsa but they took on too much marinade and weren't as good. "Chunky" sizes make for the best fruit-marinade ratio. :) Enjoy! This Mexican Fruit Salad is very good any way you slice it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Campbell River, British Columbia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
This was very good. It seemed a bit salty at first, but that mellowed as the salad sat and the juices released. I like the addition of the cayenne--it reminds me of Mexican candy (mango-flavored hard candy coated with chili powder and cayenne), and it's not too spicy at all. I added some honeydew for color and because salt complements melon perfectly. Next time, I'll add mango as well (8/11/07). UPDATE: I eat fruit for breakfast every day, and I've found I can make up a batch of this on Sundays and just keep adding fruit to it throughout the week (my favorite combo is cantaloupe, honeydew, mango, and watermelon)--the juices combine with the dressing and the flavor lasts all week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
Made this for a baby shower at work--apparently I thought the extra heat from the cayenne might induce labor. I loved it--couldn't find any melon, so I subbed in diced pears and apples, I also zested the limes before juicing them, and added a some coconut flakes. It was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noel

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
This is fabulous! A flavorful snack that's great for a hot day. I made it with a nectarine, an apple, ~1.5 cups blueberries, 3 cups watermelon, a can of organic pineapples, half a pound strawberries, and a quarter of a cantelope. Substituted pineapple juice for the honey, added a handful of chopped fresh mint, and left out the salt completely (added it when I ate it if I wanted to) - delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Mexicans always put lime, salt and chile powder on fruit. We wouldn't eat fruit any other way. So the "something different" for me was putting honey in the mix. I cut up 2 mangoes, 1 honeydew, 1 cantalope and 1 pineapple. I did add more lime juice because the honey was a little too sweet for me. And I used chile powder instead of cayenne. This was excellent, everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sunland Park, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2009
Really good. I liked the heat from the cayenne and the salt with the sweet fruit. I cut this down to a couple of servings and I used kosher salt and only a sprinkle of it and about 1/8 tsp (a really good sized pinch) of cayenne. I preferred the flavor this had with the pineapple and mango over the strawberries and grapes. I think maybe the tropical fruits are better suited for this dressing? If you don't like spice, you probably won't like this. It wasn't spicy hot, but had a little warmth to it. This is really similar to my favorite fruit topping of Trecha's brand chile powder for fruit, so if you like that, you'll like this salad. Thanks, I liked this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
I had really sweet pineapple and watermelon, so I ended up deciding not to use any honey. I did use the full amount of salt though - and it turned out great! Tomorrow I'm going to blend the leftovers with ice for a virgin margarita slushy... Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
I brought this "different" salad to a tailgate with friends. The general consensus was that this was not a win. The cayenne pepper was overwhelming and ruined the fruit. This was a waste of money & an embarrassing contribution to the event.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2011
Definitely something different! I adjusted the "sauce" ingredients for a half recipe, and opted for canned fruit as nothing looked appealing at the grocery store. If doing this, and making a half recipe, reduce the salt to 1/4 tsp. or a pinch or two as the fruit will not release juices to dilute it. I would also use a pinch or two of chile powder next time as it was slightly too hot. It has a nice balance of flavours, sure to be a hit at brunch! I topped it off with some granola for a "crunch" factor. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RMSR

Cooking Level: Intermediate


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States