'Something Different' Fruit Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2007
This is my recipe, and I wanted to mention that YES, at first it can taste salty - you need to let it sit for a few minutes. Salt pulls the juice out of fruits, and when an adequate amount of juice is released it makes a nice sauce without tasting salty. Also, if you buy underripe fruit they wont be very juicy and you wont get a good balance of flavors. Hope this helps anyone else who considers trying this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FYRECRACKER

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Beckley, West Virginia, USA
Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2007
This is absolutly the very best fruit salad I have tasted. I took it to Keeno and the group just loved it. Hats off to FYRECRACKER for sharing this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
I only used half the salt and half the cayenne but still found the salad much too salty and although it wasn't too spicy, we didn't like the taste of the cayenne with the fruit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2007
This was very good. It seemed a bit salty at first, but that mellowed as the salad sat and the juices released. I like the addition of the cayenne--it reminds me of Mexican candy (mango-flavored hard candy coated with chili powder and cayenne), and it's not too spicy at all. I added some honeydew for color and because salt complements melon perfectly. Next time, I'll add mango as well (8/11/07). UPDATE: I eat fruit for breakfast every day, and I've found I can make up a batch of this on Sundays and just keep adding fruit to it throughout the week (my favorite combo is cantaloupe, honeydew, mango, and watermelon)--the juices combine with the dressing and the flavor lasts all week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KymInNM

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Central Point, Oregon, USA
Living In: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2007
I brought this "different" salad to a tailgate with friends. The general consensus was that this was not a win. The cayenne pepper was overwhelming and ruined the fruit. This was a waste of money & an embarrassing contribution to the event.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2008
Mexicans always put lime, salt and chile powder on fruit. We wouldn't eat fruit any other way. So the "something different" for me was putting honey in the mix. I cut up 2 mangoes, 1 honeydew, 1 cantalope and 1 pineapple. I did add more lime juice because the honey was a little too sweet for me. And I used chile powder instead of cayenne. This was excellent, everyone loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fallston, Maryland, USA
Living In: Sunland Park, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2008
I had really sweet pineapple and watermelon, so I ended up deciding not to use any honey. I did use the full amount of salt though - and it turned out great! Tomorrow I'm going to blend the leftovers with ice for a virgin margarita slushy... Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2008
Made this for a baby shower at work--apparently I thought the extra heat from the cayenne might induce labor. I loved it--couldn't find any melon, so I subbed in diced pears and apples, I also zested the limes before juicing them, and added a some coconut flakes. It was a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Noel

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Oak Harbor, Washington, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
I had this at a party, and it was yummy! The heat of the cayenne is a great balance to the sweetness of the fruit! I'm going to try the same basic concept with different fruits.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bryn Mawr, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Tacoma, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2008
I did not enjoy the salty flavor in this salad. I wanted to try something different and let it sit for awhile since another reviewer said it wouldn't be as salty if I let is sit for awhile. That wasn't the case. The next morning the salad was still too salty to eat, and I only used half of the salt the recipe dictated. I gave it two stars because I liked the honey/lime mixture and thought it was tasty before the salt ruined the flavor for me. I guess we just don't have daring enough tastebuds...;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 21) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Perfect Summer Fruit Salad

A rainbow of color and flavor, this truly is the Perfect Summer Fruit Salad!

Winter Fruit Salad with Lemon Poppyseed Dressing

A fruit and romaine salad with a tangy lemon and poppyseed dressing.

Ambrosia Fruit Salad

See how to make a quick-and-easy ambrosia salad.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States