Solianka or Russian Beef Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
This was SO good! I loved everything about it! All I changed was replacing the veal with chicken, because I dont eat veal. Next time I will add the pickles a little sooned (maybe at the same time as the marinated mushrooms) because they were a little crunchy for me and I like them very soft. Overall So Delish!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ilikefrenchies

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Most amazing soup. It takes a long time to make it and it's a bit stressful but soooo worth it. I have made it quite a few times and I love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jenifaOHjenny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2011
I was a little aprehensive about the ingredients, but as it cooked it smelled amazing. I did have to substitute alternate items for the veal (thin sliced beef) and marinated mushrooms (regular raw mushrooms) and used dried dill weed instead of fresh because I couldn't find it. This was for a dinner party and everyone loved it. I got multiple comments on how tasty it was. I served it with Russian black bread and a basic side salad and it was perfect. Everyone should try this. It does indicate that it feeds 6, but I could easily have fed 12 people with the soup, salad and bread. Everyone should try this because the flavor is not what you would expect given the ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2010
I wasn't sure about all the dill, but boy, is this soup fantastic! And I'm a vegetarian! I substituted lamb cubes for the veal (I felt funny using veal) and couldn't find dried mushrooms so I just used regular mushrooms. I cooked all the mushrooms and then added them, juice and all to the pot. Just wonderful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
i love this receipe,its my husbands favorite. im originally from Russia and finding this realy inspired me to cook more russian food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2010
Good recipe. Americanized the recipe a bit for foodservice use, but the foundation of the soup itself was very interesting. Wish I hd the real-deal olives for it though, regular sliced black had to do.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2010
I signed up just so I could review this recipe. I made the soup yesterday and my husband said it's the best I've ever made! I used half the amount of butter and tomatoes (personal preference). I will be making this soup quite often, thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2010
Don't be freaked out by the unusual list of ingredients - this is delicious and so warming for a cold night! Got rave reviews from my family, they loved the strong flavors:) thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ally

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
I didn't even read the directions, I just checked out the ingredients. They are too many!=)) But, I don't think they'd bother. Why you called Solianka "Beef Soup"?=) It's not! I would call it "Smoked Meat Sour Soup"! That would be the rightest name!=)) Anyway, sounds good! This is one of my favorite soups in my country (Russia). The original way is: stock based on a pickles brine, there are ham, sausages, bacon, kelbasa, some beef, lemons, olives (black and green), tomato pure, onions, celery.....what else?.........parsley, cilantro......oooohhh!!!!!!!!!!!!! pickles, diced..capers??? you can add but the original recipe comes with pickles, so...thanks! I rated this recipe with "five stars"!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Alexander Russian Magic Cook

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Fort Lauderdale, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2009
excellent recipe, tasted just like when i was in Ukraine, very close
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by food critic

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Sweet Russian Cabbage Soup

See how to make a simple cabbage soup with ground beef and veggies.

Spicy Vietnamese Beef Noodle Soup

Chef John makes pho, the spicy Vietnamese noodle soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States