Sole with Bananas Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2004
What wierdo thought to put bananas with fish. How genious!!! Tasted delicious and not very hard to do. Make sure to have colorful sides because the white fish with the white banana with the white sauce makes the dish pretty white.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 8, 2009
This has the basis of being incredible! I did it according to the recipe but put the wine in the sauce and didn't uses as much.It was great. Next time I will use Petrale sole instead of Dover, it has less water content. I will also make the sauce a little thinner, mine was super thick. I loved the bananas! I want a banana in each bite so I will add more. All in all, very tasty! We loved it!I'll do it again with the changes and may change the rating to 5 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by patkt

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Casper, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Edmonds, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2006
Very interesting and definately worth trying, but I don't think I'd make it a regular meal. You could definately get away with adding a lot less wine (there is a lot of liquid to drain off in the finished dish) and I think fresh cilantro would make a good addition between the fish and the banannas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MEEMEEBULUGA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2008
I did not care for this. The white wine was overpowering, and the bananas go all mushy when cooked - overall tasted bad with the fish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
This was better than expected. My husband said it was like something you order at a restaurant and wants me to make it again soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
My husband loved this recipe as did I - we ate it so quickly! I omitted the white wine from the recipe and it still tasted great! Will definately cook again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SPEEDSTER356
Reviewed: May 14, 2012
This is a great idea. I tried it last night. It turned out good but I think I had too much flour in the sauce as it was a little "pastey" if you will. I posted a pic of my finished fish. Next time I think I will add a bit more Banana too. Very good combination with the cheese (I used Parmesan & Romano) Without my sauce mistake and very little tweaking, I think this is an awesome idea and is very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEEDSTER356

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 13, 2010
Me and my husband loved this recipe! I followed the reviews and omitted the wine. We didn't miss it at all! Next time I'll make a little more of the cream. And I use halibut instead of sole.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
Was very yummy. My 4 kids and husband loved it (except the kid that doesn't like fish). I omitted the wine and it turned out perfect. Make sure you do not layer the fish in the baking dish. It is very delicate and the fillets stick together making it hard to server the fillets singly. I made it twice already. This is definitely going into the rotation of weekly dinners.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morgan Hill, California, USA
Living In: Belleville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2008
I had this dish at Tio Peppe's in Baltimore turned out very simalar. I think it would be great with other types of fish as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chef John's Crab Stuffed Sole

See how to prepare the easiest “fancy” fish recipe of all time.

Bananas Foster II

An easy, elegant dessert with sautéed bananas, ice cream, and rum sauce.

Irish Bananas

Top ice cream with bananas simmered in butter, Irish whiskey, and brown sugar.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States