Soldiers Kisses Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2011
These were delicious...and so easy to make if you have a good mixer to beat the egg whites. I only used 1 cup chopped nuts and needed two cookie sheets to cook them all at the same time. Some were chewy than others, but they all came out perfect. Left them in the oven for about 10 minute after cooking with the oven off (electric oven). Will definitely make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Blender Woman
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
After reading about all of these Navy inspired dishes, I was ready for a soldiers kiss! : ) These were so simple and so good! I did half the recipe to try them out. I had to beat the egg white about 3-4 minutes during each time to get to the correct consistency. I used pre-chopped walnuts from the bag and a 1 Tablespoon cookie scoop to make level even-sized cookies, so they dried at the same time in the oven. I got 15 with half the recipe. When done, they will be slightly cracked on top. Mine took exactly the 40 minutes. Wait until slightly cool and slide a thin spatula under them to avoid any breaking. These were like little merengue cookies, but improved with the brown sugar. They were eaten up quite quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Blender Woman

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
So easy and tasty! I've never made a meringue cookie, but saw this, had the ingredients on hand, and just had to make it! The outside was crisp and chewy, the inside light and airy. I put them in for 35 minutes to begin with, the tops were dry, but the insides were still wet. I put them back in for the remaining 5 minutes, and they turned out perfect! These will definitely be made again- and soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
I was surprised with these, they came out delicious! I made a batch the day before thanksgiving, took them out of the oven, and my two brothers and my Dad ate all of them in a couple of minutes. I had to make another batch the next day..... =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
OMG! These cookies were to DIE for! Maybe it's the fact that I'm 4 1/2 months pregnant with twins, who knows, but my son LOVES them too! We only made them a couple hours ago and well... they're just about gone! Delicious recipe, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Elle
Reviewed: May 12, 2011
Slightly crunchy, lightly sweet-these are great cookies. I used pecans instead of walnuts, adding just a tiny drop of maple extract to compliment the brown sugar. I had planned to use a cookie press, but the ground nuts didn't fit through the tip, so I used a rounded teaspoon as directed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Elle

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hays, Kansas, USA
Photo by ricci.immaculata
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
It took a loooong time to make meringue cookies, but it's all worth the wait. These cookies are delicious! Just one note, after 40-45 minutes baking, turn the heat off and let the cookies inside the oven for another 30-60 minutes. Let it dry out. You can even leave it in the oven overnight and take it out ar serve it the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ricci.immaculata

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Washington, D.C., USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I made these for my coworkers, I iced some and left some as orginal cookie THESE ARE AWESOME and simple
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dawnshylo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2011
Yum! So good. I made a half batch and beat my egg white for 3 minutes. Although I searched for a walnut cookie and came across this recipe, I realized I'd end up using all of my walnuts, so I used my slap/chop tool on some almonds and used those. They came out terrific. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Chelleypears
Reviewed: Jan. 9, 2012
This is a fantastic recipe! I added a few things... I have been defeated by meringue before, but this time I won the jackpot! I added in 1/8 tsp each of salt and cream of tartar to the eggs before beating. And a tsp of vanilla extract with the nuts. I substituted the nuts for 1/2 cup choc chips and 1 1/2 cups pecans because that's what I had on hand and what sounded good:) I used the whisk attachment on my hand-mixer and I think that works better than beaters. I used a glass bowl because I didn't have metal and let it chill in the freezer for about 10min( a tip I got from tv) and let my eggs warm up on the counter for about 40min. My cookies were done in 40mins perfectly! Thank you, will make again and again! Try it these are fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 13) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Gingerbread Cookies

Learn how to make fun and festive gingerbread cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States