Soldier Buttons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 29, 2012
Delicious....I made them exactly as the recipe was written, except I added about 1/2 tsp almond extract along with the vanilla, and I rolled the balls in turbinado sugar before I added the jam. I also had to bake them about 17 minutes instead of 12.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by andrea620

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Maplewood, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
OH WOW! PHENOMINAL COOKIES AND SUPER EASY!! so light and thin and delicious. Soft cookie! Will make again, perfect with tea.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2011
The recipe was a bit bland. Not sure what I did wrong. I'm going to try it again sometime and update my review...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 20, 2011
We used apple jelly, apricot preserves, and strawberry preserves in ours. They were fantastic, especially the apricot.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jenni Richardson

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I followed the suggestions made by "Gwen on the West coast" and I think this made them even better. I experimented with freezing them. When they thawed, they were slightly drier than the ones that weren't frozen, but they held up well!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2009
This is a positively scrumptious cookie and it's very easy to make. I have the following recommendations. (1) The recipe calls for one cup of butter. Normally, when I am baking a cupcake or bread, I will substitute unsweetened applesauce for butter. I do not recommend that for this cookie, as it will not replicate the texture of the butter. I did, however, use 1/2 cup butter and 1/2 low calorie margarine. In terms of calories, butter and margarine both have around 35 calories and 4g of fat per teaspoon (however I did use Smart Balance, which is lower in calories and fat). I did this because butter adds the creamy texture but margarine keeps the cookie from deflating or spreading out too much and I wanted to maintain the hole in the cookie where the strawberry preserves were. (2) I created the hole in the cookie by sticking a butter knife in the top and rotating it (you can use your finger to perfect the well). (3) I stuck the dough in the freezer for twenty minutes before rolling into balls (the size of my cookie balls was between 1 inch and 1 and 1/2 inches). (4) For the quantity of jam to use, I used a very full (rounded) 1/4 teaspoon of strawberry preserves per cookie. I baked for 12 minutes and the cookies came out perfectly. I followed the quantities specified and wound up with 30 cookies. The flavor of this cookie is buttery and delicious. I love them. Thank you for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2008
A simple recipe, yet so very delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
I made these using apple butter, and they were INCREDIBLE!!!! I have made these probably at least once a month for the past year, and love to try new sorts or jams for the filling! They are out of this world!!!! Thanks so much for posting!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Jennifer
Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
These cookies were really good! I popped the dough in the fridge for a few minutes before shaping it into the cookies. It made the dough a little easier to work with. I also used the back of a spoon to make the well for the jam. After making each well, I dusted the back of the spoon with flour just so it would not stick to the next cookie. I think the important thing is to not use too much jam in the middle of each cookie, or else it will spill out over the edges of the well and make a sticky mess. Also, my cookies took about 15-17 minutes to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Westlake Village, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2005
These were so easy and so good! Very soft too, even several days later!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 11) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chili Chocolate Cookies

See how a dash of cayenne pepper really draws out the chocolate flavor.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Best Big, Fat, Chewy Chocolate Chip Cookie

See how to make chewy, bakery-style cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States