Soft Zucchini Spice Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I loved your spice cookies even though I made one subsitution. Instead of brown sugar I used Splenda brown sugar. I made 4 batches, one for home and 3 for our church" fall festival and I did not have one left and every one was raving over them and had no idea they were good for them with the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Ashland, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2002
I have made these cookies several times and they are EXCELLENT with chocolate chips. I also substituted half the butter with applesauce once and it seemed to make no difference. Very moist, almost cakelike in texture. Zucchini-haters devoured these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
This may come as a shock - I didn't have any zucchini! What I did have was some cut off kernels (cream style) of leftover corn-on-the-cob, so I substituted it and the cookies came out great! I don't often recommend substitutions of major ingredients, but it worked out just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Junction City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
Love 'em. I substituted whole wheat flour, Sucanat (unrefined sugar), hemp milk, and I omitted the nuts & orange peel & these still turned out delicious! I think the spices are the key- smells great cooking & very tasty. They do spread a lot, but did not go completely flat, and they are very soft & cake like. I used one medium zucchini to get 1 1/2 c. grated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
Fantastic - cakelike, but that's exactly what I was looking for - I cut the sugar in half and added chocolate chips, they weren't runny at all (I didn't squeeze out the zucchini) & my household is gobbling them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Used half the sugar and added some choc chips but other than that did exactly as the recipe said and they were great! Nice and light, they dont make you feel like youve eaten something bad for you while still tasting great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
These were delicious! I enjoyed the addition of the orange zest. It makes these stand out. These cookies ARE cakey. Any type of zucchini cookie will be. If you don't LIKE cakey cookies, move on. These were very moist. Don't remove water from your zucchini when making these, and be careful not to overbake. Both can lead to dryness. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
GREAT cookies. I made them healthier by replacing half the butter with apple sauce, lowering the ammount of brown sugar, and using whole wheat flour. Taste great with chocolate chips/rasins, will definately make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gracieloo21

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I tried this recipe because I had left over grated zucchini from making my zucchini bread. The orange zest intrigued me so I tried it. I read the reviews and this is what worked for me. I omitted the milk and decreased the baking powder to 1 1/2 tsp. and also drained the zucchini as I had already done for the bread. These cookies are delicious as is or would also taste great with a drizzle of icing. Will make again:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2011
The family- even the small boy- likes these!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bethany26

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 26) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States