Soft Zucchini Spice Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2010
I tried this recipe because I had left over grated zucchini from making my zucchini bread. The orange zest intrigued me so I tried it. I read the reviews and this is what worked for me. I omitted the milk and decreased the baking powder to 1 1/2 tsp. and also drained the zucchini as I had already done for the bread. These cookies are delicious as is or would also taste great with a drizzle of icing. Will make again:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
GREAT cookies. I made them healthier by replacing half the butter with apple sauce, lowering the ammount of brown sugar, and using whole wheat flour. Taste great with chocolate chips/rasins, will definately make again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Gracieloo21

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
These ARE VERY LIGHT, and they are flavorful. Just don't end up with a final product that temps your taste buds for more. It's a simple cookie with good flavor. I ended up baking them for more than the 10 minutes, but it could just be my oven. They need something to either make them a little heavier or something that will add another flavor level. Not sure that I'll make them again; however, I appreciate having another way to use up the zucchini from the garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama
Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2010
These were delicious! I enjoyed the addition of the orange zest. It makes these stand out. These cookies ARE cakey. Any type of zucchini cookie will be. If you don't LIKE cakey cookies, move on. These were very moist. Don't remove water from your zucchini when making these, and be careful not to overbake. Both can lead to dryness. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pam-3BoysMama

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Monroeville, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: New Castle, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Used half the sugar and added some choc chips but other than that did exactly as the recipe said and they were great! Nice and light, they dont make you feel like youve eaten something bad for you while still tasting great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
I loved your spice cookies even though I made one subsitution. Instead of brown sugar I used Splenda brown sugar. I made 4 batches, one for home and 3 for our church" fall festival and I did not have one left and every one was raving over them and had no idea they were good for them with the veggies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Shelbyville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Ashland, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2009
Not at all happy with this recipe. I followed the recipe exactly and it was so runny I couldn't use it. I added flour, but that just made them doughy. It might work if you add oatmeal, but I just don't think it would help.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 1, 2009
Fantastic - cakelike, but that's exactly what I was looking for - I cut the sugar in half and added chocolate chips, they weren't runny at all (I didn't squeeze out the zucchini) & my household is gobbling them up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2009
Love 'em. I substituted whole wheat flour, Sucanat (unrefined sugar), hemp milk, and I omitted the nuts & orange peel & these still turned out delicious! I think the spices are the key- smells great cooking & very tasty. They do spread a lot, but did not go completely flat, and they are very soft & cake like. I used one medium zucchini to get 1 1/2 c. grated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 1, 2009
This may come as a shock - I didn't have any zucchini! What I did have was some cut off kernels (cream style) of leftover corn-on-the-cob, so I substituted it and the cookies came out great! I don't often recommend substitutions of major ingredients, but it worked out just fine!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hazelnut

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Junction City, Kansas, USA
Living In: Ypsilanti, Michigan, USA

Displaying results 11-20 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States