Soft Whole Wheat Sugar Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
YUMMY
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by winterr

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2013
Soooo good!! My kids loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2013
I just made these for the first time and they came out great! Instead of the Apple pie spice, I used dashes of cinnamon, nutmeg, and ginger-- the dough was so tasty, I didn't need to sprinkle anything on top. Definitely my go-to recipe for something sweet from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2011
absolutely amazing. I used cinnamon and nutmeg instead of apple pie spice. I rolled them out and used cookie cutters with my kids and also iced with royal icing. Soooo gooooood. Not too sweet and just a hint of holiday spice. I'll never use another sugar cookie recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 28, 2010
wow wow wow! What a surprise! These are very very yummy. My girls ( 5 and 2) love them! I love them and my husband loves them! Can't believe they are whole wheat. I didn't have any apple pie spice so I used a dash of cinnamon, nutmeg and allspice. The dough was a little thick so I added just a bit more milk and it was perfect. I also left out the mini candies ( don't need them) Next time I will try making with some applesauce in place of the egg and use part splenda. These will be something we will have on a regular basis. You will not be disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
These were absolutely wonderful. I took the first reviewers advice and added 1/4 applesauce and 1/4 butter instead of the shortening. I think the applesauce made the cookie too flat. It's delicious, for sure, but it's not the soft cookie I wanted. Stick to the butter or shortening. It doesn't make this cookie considerably more healthy just because you cut 1/4 of the butter. You'll love this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunshynGoddess

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2010
My 9 year old made these all by himself and they are WONDERFUL! We have been lookng for a good sugar cookie recipe with Whole Wheat Flour and these were perfect! The apple pie spice added just the right kick! Great recipe! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2010
So I had to make many, many changes to this to make the cookies palatable! Firstly, had to lower the oven temp as the outsides were burning to 350 (though my oven isn't known for its consistancy). Also, added another tblsp of butter (which I used instead of shortening) and a quarter cup MORE milk as it was looking very dry. The dough wasn't at all sweet (I am not trying to make a cracker!) so I added another 1/4c of sugar as well. Not a fan of chocolates, etc, in cookies so I mixed cinnamon and sugar and rolled the cookie balls in it before putting them in oven. Now, almost as good as white flour cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LAURENMCALLISTER

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Ottawa, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
I've made sugar cookies every Christmas for 5 years now. I wanted to try this recipe because I had whole wheat flour in the house. I followed the recipe exactly, yet the cookies burned in less than 6 minutes. I tried again and the same thing happened. My oven made every other type of cookie perfectly fine. I can only guess that its the whole wheat that's causing this. I'm going back to all purpose flour now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States