Soft Sugar Cookies V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2004
This is by far the best sugar cookie recipe I have ever used. If you do not over bake the cookies they turn out perfect every time! They have a great flavor and will stay soft for days! I like to frost them with buttercream frosting dyed with food coloring to fit the occasion! Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2004
I have tried many sugar cookie recipes. They all turn out the same. Too brown, too hard. These are teriffic! The sour cream really makes them soft. Wonderful recipe. I used almond extract insted of vanilla for a different taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2004
i made these for my sisters bridal shower and used a heart shape cutter and hard icing colored pink. they were a huge hit - i even printed extra recipie cards to pass out. this is the best recipie i have found for a soft sugar cookie. they are also great for cutters. thank you.....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2004
best cookies ever!!! everyone loves them, and the recipe makes so many that you can easily wrap some up to share w/ neighbors and friends. my kids love 'em! request these always when we bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2003
I have been searching and SEARCHING for the perfect soft sugar cookie recipe and I think this is it! The key is them still being soft the next day. I rolled them fairly thick and was careful not to overbake them, and I think that helped. I also substituted grated orange rind for nutmeg because I'm generally not a huge nutmeg fan. I iced them with cream cheese icing and they were a huge hit! Thanks, Eileen. P.S. I also used 1/2 butter and 1/2 margarine becaue I was out of butter and I think that may have helped them hold their shape. Just a thought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Logan, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by PSNEED5
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2004
Very good sugar cookies. I added 1 1/2 t. cream of tartar, as it sets sugar cookies apart. The sour cream made this cookie extra special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2003
I thought that these were great soft sugar cookies. Even the next day they were still soft. I left out the nutmeg and used cream of tartar instead. I frosted them with buttercream frosting and they were excellent.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
These cookies were a hit in my house! I also added red and green m&m's to make them christmas cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2004
By far, this is the best sugar cookie recipe I have ever tried and I have been on the hunt for years! Perfect for cut-outs - retains shapes nicely. The sour cream adds an excellent flavor and keeps them extra soft and moist. Baked three batches for valentine gifts and got rave reviews. Be sure to roll them to at least 1/4 inch and watch them closely during the last few minutes of baking. Remove them once a slight golden color appears. As with all cookies, they continue to bake once removed from oven. You won't be dissapointed with this one! Thanks Eileen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2003
Excellent recipe! The only change I made was to add grated orange rind to the dough. It was easy to handle, did not stick to my rolling pin - and my family raved about the cookies. I iced them with a regular powdered sugar icing and decorated them for Christmas. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States