Soft Sugar Cookies V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Jun. 17, 2009
These cookies are super tasty, and super chewy delicious. I accidentally over baked the second batch, (don't let these cookies brown at all!) but they were good after I left them in a container overnight with a piece of bread. I also didn't add the nutmeg, as I wanted a flavored frosting, but they were tasty plain too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ROBYNC2
Reviewed: May 18, 2009
These were the best Sugar Cookies I have every made…let’s say the only sugar cookies I have made. I will keep this recipe for years to come. I did take another’s cooks suggestion of adding cream of tarter. I also add lemon zest to the wet batter. I was able to get 69 cookies out of two batches of dough, using butterfly and flower cookie cutter. These made a great addition to my daughter’s 2nd birthday party. I made a cookie bouquet with them. I found that it was easier to cut out all of my shapes, place them a cookie tray with wax paper and pop them back into the refrigerate until they were firm {25 – 30mins}. This made transferring them to the baking sheet much easier; didn’t have to worry about them falling apart. As they cooled, I used a bamboo skewer to make the hole for the lollipop stick. I placed a small amount of the cookie icing on the lollipop stick and inserted into the cookie and decorated from there. I will be making more of these for my niece’s birthday party this weekend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROBYNC2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Ashley_S
Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2009
These were really good. I just think they needed alot less nutmeg. They would have been perfect if the nutmeg was cut in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley_S

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Wyandotte, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 3, 2009
These cookies were not very good at all. :( The were bland and they had a very belch taste. I don't think it was me though, I took every step with caution as I always do and double checked every move i made. I was super excited about them too. What a shame. I will just have to try a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sam84jo
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2009
I was going to make a fruit pizza for a BBQ and all the recipes either called for store bought dough or minimal ingredients that just bored me. So I gave this recipe a try as the crust. I was VERY pleased. I used the full recipe for a 12 inch pizza pan and next time I will definitely just halve it b/c it was a very thick crust. I omitted the nutmeg and used a bit of cream of tarter in its place. Baked it for approx. 15 mins, which if I were to halve this I'm sure would take less time. Took out of the oven as soon as the edged began to golden. Completely cooled before I added icing and fruit. The crust was firm yet still soft and not crisp. Can't wait to use this recipe again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam84jo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2009
These were so yummy. Like one of the other reviews, I did not chill them as I didn't have time. The first batch I rolled out on wax paper and used my cutters. Then I pulled out the dough between the cookies and left them on the paper so they wouldn't tear or stretch shape. There was steam when I opened the oven, but they came out great. The rest of the dough was able to chill enough while I did my first batch. I suggest cream cheese frosting and lots of sugar sprinkles.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
EXCELLENT!!! I had no problem with the dough, and I did NOT chill it. I just rolled it out on waxed paper. Use a long strip of paper, and roll the dough out the length of the paper. It works great. You can roll this dough out again and again until all your cookies are cut. The nutmeg is overpowering though - decrease it to 1/8 tsp. I used the full 1/4 and wow, it tastes like pumpkin pie cookies. I also added 1/4 tsp. cream of tartar. I might even eliminate the nutmeg next time. These are excellent with a sour cream/cream cheese icing. WOW WOW WOW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
This recipe is just I' ve been looking fror.I followed everything the same as recipe and everything came out really great. the cookies are fairly soft and they didn't lose the form after baked. I gave it five stars for it's very simple to make.I used it to bake twice already. I made twice.The first time i made i brought them to share with my friend at work and they liked and so as my family. and look like i'm gonna use many times more.thanks for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
They turned out great. My kids love them. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
My husband doesn't like sugar cookies but, He REALLY liked these! The kids liked them too. They don't last long at our house!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kassie99050810

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Point Pleasant, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 194) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

The Best Rolled Sugar Cookies

See how to make the ultimate sugar cookie from scratch.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States