Soft Sugar Cookies V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
These didn't turn out for me at all. They were bland and tasteless.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Fort Dodge, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2009
My only note about this recipe is that for us, it only made 20 cookies. I rolled them out a bit thicker than 1/4 inch and I guess all cookie cutters are slightly different sizes . . . I used the Sugar Cookie Icing recipe with no dye, added colored sprinkles, and they turned out so perfect, delicious and beautiful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BSmith NH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
The texture of these are amazing with the sour cream, they stayed moist for many days. My boyfriend and his friend liked these a lot. the only thing I would try next time would be adding a bit more sugar...not quite the perfect taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
Just the texture/puff factor I was looking for. I froze the dough for several days before rolling and baking, and found it extremely easy to work with.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2009
If I had it to do all over again, I would have omitted the nutmeg. I did add a splash of lemon extract, but I liked that touch. These cookies taste like what you would find in the bakery section of the grocery store. You know, the ones that are in the glass case and are usually decorated with a glaze icing- round smiley faces or christmas tree shaped. Not my favorite, but I love the crumb. I would make this again, but perhaps with no nutmeg, no lemon extract and a bit of almond extract. The dough gets stiff fast. I baked these on the top rack so the bottoms wouldn't burn on me( like in the picture)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lanee
Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
I make this recipe with my students every Christmas and it's definitely a favorite! They love how soft the cookies are!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
With only two small changes these cookies were exactly what our family loves in a sugar cookie...Very soft, almost like a tea cake. I added 1/4 c. extra sugar to the dough, and used lemon extract instead of the nutmeg. Definitely a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
Tastes like Cheryl's cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
These were pretty tastey. You really need to watch the cook-time as if you over bake them they are no longer soft. I'll probably make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: New Martinsville, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
Delicious and lots of flavor. The sour cream makes it moist and taste like more. These are a fun favorite and so easy to make. We try to leave the cinnamon dots off of some for those who don't care for the spice and add peppermint flavor to part of the batch and add white dot candies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States