Soft Sugar Cookies V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
Best soft sugar cookie recipe I've tried to date! Puffed up beautifully and stayed soft; didn't run thin like many other recipes. I personally liked the nutmeg, but definitely leave out if you don't--it's noticable. Will certainly make again!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2010
Excellent recipe. Easy and very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
This is an excellent sugar cookie recipe that I have been using over a year. I figured it was time to write my own review after reading some of the recent surprising negative reviews. My kids always request this cookie for their holiday party snacks at school. There is definitely not too much flour in this recipe. If you were to use any less you would be left with a gooey mess that wouldn't be able to be rolled out. I have made this recipe so many times and never once did I have a batch where the dough turned out crumbly. The directions say to use softened butter and I place the butter in the microwave for 30 seconds to basically have it melted before starting on the recipe (maybe others don't have their butter softened enough to begin with). Next, I add all the ingredients but the flour, baking soda, baking powder, salt and nutmeg and cream them. Then I add half the flour (2 cups) and mix again. After that is well blended I add the remaining 2 cups of flour with the other dry ingredients and mix. Personally, I like the nutmeg in these cookies and don't find it to be too much at all and find it hardly noticeable. Also, I saw someone mention these don't brown up on top. I have never wanted my sugar cookies to brown up on top and have been known to take them out a little early to make sure they don't. I use the Sugar Cookie Icing recipe from this site by JBS Box and it works excellently with these cookies. I highly recommend this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
I liked the idea of adding sour cream, but I would not follow this recipe again. There is too much flour in this recipe. My dough and cookies were very dry. Considering the picture of this recipe has frosting on the cookies, I am assuming you are supposed to ice them because the cookies are not sweet at all by themselves. I only baked half of my dough and for my second batch, I am going to roll little dough balls in sugar and bake them like snickerdoodles. Hopefully that should get them sweet enough. If I were to make these again, I would only use 3 cups of flour. Maybe even less. I am surprised to hear that people didn't like the nutmeg because I loved the nutmeg hint. Always use fresh nutmeg because the pre-ground stuff tastes awful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2010
Yummy! The sour cream makes it soft and the nutmeg is the secret to the great taste. Unfortunately, it is not sugar enough to be great like the sugar cookies in the stores. I use this recipe for parties. Every body loves it and thinks it is more of a sweet donut or cake because of the texture and taste. Bummer~oh will, it's good. You should give it a try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nancyB

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Banning, California, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Are you sure it's four cups flour and only 1 1/2 cups sugar? These cookies did not turn out for me at all. They are very bland and not sweet at all. They taste almost like playdoh or over cooked pancakes. It's nice to see that other people had this same problem.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
amazing. i cut back on the nutmeg-just a small dash will do- and added 1 teaspoon cream of tarter. these cookies are really nice when they are a bit thicker. yummmm, the sugar cookie recipe i've been looking and looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
They taste great, but my didn't brown on top, and they didn't spread out good. the dough was crumbly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
I just finished my first batch of these and I followed the recipe exactly. 1/4 tsp of nutmeg is definitely too much! Next time I'll try half that amount, but otherwise, they're pretty tasty. My little niece asked for strawberry cookies, so I have a batch of dough chilling in the fridge right now where I replaced the nutmeg and vanilla with 4 tbsp of powdered strawberry Nesquick and used only 1 cup sugar (since Nesquick already has a lot of sugar in it). I'll let you know how that turns out...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Stina Wing-Richards
Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Martinez, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2010
Aside from leaving out the nutmeg (not a fan) and adding a dash of cinnamon I followed this recipe step by step and for some reason my cookies didn't turn out right. They didn't puff up at all..not how other people have described their cookies. They are soft and chewy but look "caved in". I can't figure it out! Any input from others would be great. This was my first attempt at sugar cookies and I feel so annoyed at my result. I'm sure it's not the recipe..I must have gone wrong somewhere! :-(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Northampton, Northamptonshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States