Soft Sugar Cookies IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I for years I have been looking for a "cake-like" cookie to make chocolate chip cookies. My husband grew up with a store brand cookie like that and has been after me to make one. Now I can! The chocolate chip and walnuts with this recipe did the trick. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2013
I used this recipe to make Candy cane Kiss Cookies. I liked that I could roll this in balls and roll in red colored sugar. Turned out perfect to top with the candy cane kisses.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, New York, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
great basic recipe. Can add more extract to amp the flavor, but very versatile in general.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SSwisher
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
I made half a recipe and it came together very easy and would be great for first time bakers. I followed exactly and unlike some of the reviewers, I did not find the salt to be too heavy. Make sure to mix the flour, salt and baking powder before adding to the wet ingredients. In my oven these took about 11 minutes. The mix of red and green sugar was our favorite. Will definitely go on the cookie trays this year.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Fulton, Illinois, USA
Living In: Bremerton, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2013
These cookies are the best tasting sugar cookies I've ever had. I would have said I didn't really like sugar cookies before I had these, but these have hanged my mind! They are delicious rolled in sugar or made into cut outs and iced. The balls stay softer, whereas the cutout cookies get crisp like you're probably used to. Fantastic recipe I will turn to for years to come!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
Amazing! I've never made sugar cookies that turned out before. I scored with the hubby on this one!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2013
They are really good. I only baked for 8 minutes and they were perfect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
I've made these cookies for my family at Christmas for the last few years. I thought it was time to post some tips for those who may have encountered problems with this recipe. You can scale this recipe up to 36 servings to avoid the odd measurements of butter and shortening. Or, you can scale it down to as little as 12 servings. I always chill the dough for 1 hour before baking. Any longer than that and the dough will get too cold, too hard, and the cookies will be raw in the middle (The tops/centers should look pale and white). If the centers look wet or grey, they're underdone. After rolling the balls of dough into an additional amount of sugar, you must flatten them (to an even thickness) using the bottom of a 1/4 or 1/8 cup measuring cup. If you don't, they will not bake all the way through in the center. If your dough is closer to room temperature, bake the cookies for 8:45. If the dough is colder and firmer, bake for 10 minutes. If the dough cracks or crumbles when you try rolling it into balls, it is a sign that the dough may be slightly dry. To offset this, add a tiny amount of milk, water, or canola oil to your hands and pat the dough softly until it seems fully moistened (and does not crack or crumble when rolling it into balls). On the flip side, if the dough seems too sticky or wet after mixing, add enough flour to keep it from sticking to your hands before refrigerating. I hope this helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2013
Great recipe but will add less salt next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2013
Too much salt and not enough flavor! Was disappointing to have these be the first batch of Christmas cookies for the season.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 1,305) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States