Soft Sugar Cookies IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2014
I wanted to make some Valentine's cookies, but was tired of the sugar cookie dough I had been using the last few years because it was very crumbly. I made this recipe to the direction, except for making them cut-outs, and those cookies turned out AMAZING!!! I could not stop eating them. I used a Cotton Candy Betty Crocker container of icing on them. It was absolute perfection....it got me wanting to make cookies for every blessed holiday. We can use Christmas trees for arbor day, right?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LeslieS

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 17, 2014
I substituted the shortening with coconut oil.. I used just under the called for measurement..and added just a little bit more butter. I also used a splash of almond milk just because when it was done it was a little bit too dry. They turned out great!! I also added green sugar crystals to the dough before I added the flour (for St. Paddy's Day) and rolled them in sugar and green crystals, stuck a Hershey's Kiss in the center and baked them for 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Marshall, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
Truly the most delicious sugar cookie recipe! I followed the recipe exactly and they turned out perfectly! Everybody loved them! No need to frost them. They are sweet enough with the colored sugar on top. I will make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jojo

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
The cookie tasted okay. But I could definitely taste the shortening. Next time I might omit the shortening and just use all butter. I can't get over the shortening bc it's all I taste. I was hoping for better results, but they weren't that satisfying. And they aren't soft at all when they're cooled. Maybe I just did something wrong? Although I call myself following the recipe, only thing I did was at an extra 1/4 cup of sugar, as I like them very sugary. But even with that, I could still very much taste the shortening. =\
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2014
Great cookie recipe! I used 1 cup of all-purpose flour and 2 1/2 cups of whole wheat flour and the cookies were delicious. I also rolled it out and cut with cookie cutters (omitting the granulated sugar), which worked perfectly with this dough.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bluffton, Ohio, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2014
I was expecting so much more. They were bland and not sweet. Definitely add frosting to these. I won't be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Denver, Colorado, USA
Living In: Oceanside, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2014
I was disappointed with this recipe. I followed the recipe to a T. The cookies were not soft, lacked flavor, and stayed like the way you put them on the cookie sheet. I will not make these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 17, 2014
Oh my goodness!! These are so so good! I don't like shortening so I used butter only! And these still came out so so delicious! I was hoping they would be since the reviews were so amazing for them!! Thanks to the mrs. Who posted this!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2014
These cookies tasted great, but turned hard the next day. I placed a couple in the microwave for about 20 seconds and these were soft again. Great cookies, but eat them ight away.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2014
I've been using this site for over a year and this is the first time I have bothered reviewing a recipe. This was extremely easy and delicious. I followed the recipe exactly as written. Anyone who gave this recipe a bad review did something wrong or just doesn't like sugar cookies. Today I'm on the hunt for a frosting recipe for these! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 1,309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States