Soft Sugar Cookies IV Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 17)
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Great recipe for the kids to help out with. Turned out perfect the first time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
Wow, these are fabulous! I was simply looking for a plain old sugar cookie that didn't have to be rolled out and cut into shapes. I do have a favorite recipe that starts with balls or dough rolled in sugar, but that recipe yields a very flaky delicate cookie and this time I wanted something a bit more durable. Not only was the texture perfect, the flavor is awesome! Followed the recipe exactly, using my homemade vanilla extract, and couldn't be happier with the results!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I just finished making these, and let me tell you they're great. I followed the recipe exactly like it says. I've been trying to make soft sugar cookies for the last 35 years and have had no luck - they always turned out like hockey pucks. So I quit trying 7 years ago - until today. They turned out perfect, just like I remember homemade sugar cookies tasting. Thank you, thank you, thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I have to say that these cookies were a huge hit. I used crisco butter flavored shortening sticks, not sure if that changed anything. I know the kid had fun making them into balls and rolling them in the sugar sprinkle mixture. but, i will say that i think the kids might've added some salt to the mixture and it tastes great. We put frosting and mini M&M's on them. They are crunchy and chewy. So good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Good, but didn't stay soft once they cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
these are flippin awesome,followed the recipe and we all love them!!!! thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fallbrook, California, USA
Living In: Lincolnton, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2012
Loved these cookies. Best tasting sugar cookies I've ever had. I must have done something a little wrong because when I took 1st batch out of oven they hadn't flattened out much at all, still almost a ball. For the remaining batches I rolled out the balls of dough and then flattened them with the palms of my hands. They all baked up perfectly in 10 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Fred Cannon

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Garrett, Indiana, USA
Living In: Saint Joe, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
Nice recipe. First time I followe exactly . second time I used a cup of butter and 1/4 shortening very good. Best sugar cookie I have tried so far.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michal Gennaria

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
These cookies came out absolutely fluffy. I used a cookie scoop which made them the perfect size. For the first batch I left them in the rounded shape and it made them SO soft; they were like miniature pillows! For the second batch I used the "peanutbutter cookie fork smoosh" method, but didn't make them too flat. These were the cookies I frosted. They were equally as soft, so it's really personal preference. For an added touch, on the rounded ones I put a dab of frosting and a single peanutbutter chip. It was mostly a decorative addition. For the flatter ones I frosted them with frosting I'd colored, and sprinkled miniature Tollhouse chocolate chips on it. Since they were semi-sweet it cut down on the sweetness a tiny bit and gave them a little bit of an edge. Oh, I almost forgot to mention... I added a dash of cinnamon to the recipe and it really gave it just the perfect hint of flavor. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2012
I made this recipe because I wanted a sugar cookie not a cutout. The dough was very crumbly making it necessary to pack it to make it hold together. The result was more dense than I wanted. Also they lacked flavor. Sorry, I won't make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bonnie

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Monroe, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 161-170 (of 1,309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States