Soft Sugar Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
From other reviewers I expected these to be much more thick/cakelike, so I decreased the amount of baking powder by almost half. According to gourmetsleuth.com: "Baking soda must come in contact with an acid in order to form carbon dioxide gas which in turns makes the baked product rise." Sour cream is one of those acids. Anyway, these turned out fluffy and flavorful. I didn't want to ruin them with icing so we enjoyed them plain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
There are at least 17 reviews on here and most of them reference that these are soft cake-like cookies. The TITLE of the cookie is "Soft . . . " So why ae people still complaining about soft cake-like cookjies in their reviews??? For goodness sake, people, what are the reviews for if not to warn you away from things you're probably not going to like? (Of course there's other reasons to read the reviews too.) Anyway, I thought these were really good - soft as I expected and wanted. Not bursting with lots of flavor but I know that too from the reviews - and that's what I was looking for. Good cookies that were perfect with the spicy peaches that went with them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Hot Springs, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Fresno, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2001
This is the best sugar cookie recipe ever. My children and I made a batch of these wonderfully thick and soft cookies and they lasted less than a day. It's fantastic by my family.:):)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2006
I think they are great! They are cake-like and very thick and soft. Also good if you add a teaspoon of vanilla extract.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
These are as others reviewed soft cake-like cookies. I found them to be very tasty. You have to expect them to be cake-like, for the recipe calls for 3 eggs. If you don't want your cookie like cake decrease to 2 eggs instead of 3.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by melissa.507

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Apple Valley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Kilkenny, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2000
the texture of these cookies turned out very cake-like, which i find unappealing in a cookie. and they really only needed to be baked about 6 &1/2 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2003
Absolutely terrible -- completely cake-like. If you want a cake, then make a cake, not cookies. I threw these all out and started over with a different recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
I love this recipe and the fact the cookies are cakelike. I do agree they're a little bland, but that's why there are spices....makes it perfect to give your own touch!! Thanks for the recipe :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
These were nice, light, cake like cookies, just as described! I did add a touch of vanilla extract. My husband described them as simple but good. I agree!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ||__stefanel__||>

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2011
This was easy! I wanted something sweet but didn't have many ingredients at home. In fact I had to make sour cream (2/3 cup whole milk and teaspoon of lemon juice). They turned out great. They would really be good if I had frosting to put on them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lr2go

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Warsaw, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States