Soft Sugar Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2011
My daughter wanted a soft sugar cookie for her daughter's class. I found these and tried them. We all taste tested them and loved them. These cookies are now a regular treat. We frost them with chocolate icing most of the time. My grand daughter calls them "cup cake tops". I'm baking them today for a church bake sale tomorrow. The only thing I do differently is add 2 tsps of vanilla.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Duluth, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Matteson, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2012
Great. Very, very Yummy. Had a movie night and ate them while watching the movie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Super Ninja Master

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2001
This is the best sugar cookie recipe ever. My children and I made a batch of these wonderfully thick and soft cookies and they lasted less than a day. It's fantastic by my family.:):)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2004
Great cookies! These are the sugar cookies I remember from my childhood--thick, soft, and tasty. My search for the perfect sugar cookie recipe is over. Marsha, you are wonderful. Thanks so much for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Steelton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
From other reviewers I expected these to be much more thick/cakelike, so I decreased the amount of baking powder by almost half. According to gourmetsleuth.com: "Baking soda must come in contact with an acid in order to form carbon dioxide gas which in turns makes the baked product rise." Sour cream is one of those acids. Anyway, these turned out fluffy and flavorful. I didn't want to ruin them with icing so we enjoyed them plain!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA
Living In: Kuala Lumpur, Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2007
I absolutely love this cookie. I make several dozen every week so my husband can take them to work. The guys at my husbands job can't get enough of them...Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ford Cliff, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
Very good. Plain and simple, but thats what makes the delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Colbs

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2011
Wonderful cookies! Soft and not crumbly. Very good w/ spprinkles,frosting or sugar crystals. My husband couldn't stop eating them. I had to hide them so there would be some left for his work lunches this week. VERY easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
I made these cookies for my son and his girlfriend. I brought them some and the rest I brought to their work, and they were a big hit all they way around. everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LauraFromOhio
Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2014
I love love love this recipe! The sour cream makes the cookies so moist, and the recipe is so versatile that you can make any flavor under the sun! The pic I added was of the maple/pecan version. I did this by adding a teaspoon of maple flavor to the cookie dough as well as a cup of chopped pecans. The frosting is simply a stick of butter with a cup or so of powdered sugar and a teaspoon of maple flavoring, melted together in a small sauce pan. As soon as you frost the cookie with the warm frosting you will want to add any decor, since the frosting sets up quickly. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States