Soft Sugar Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2000
These cookies are excellent! A little harder to work with than most dough, you have to make sure it's well refridgerated before you roll out, but well worth the extra effort. Also, I didn't like the way the nutmeg made it taste, so I skipped that ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2000
I made these cookies last Christmas, and they were the most popular food item there. My extended family expects them for every occaision. The are big , soft (never get hard), and very tasty. The dough is VERY difficult to work with, though, so I keep it in the freezer and only role out a small amount at a time with lots of flour. It's worth it, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2001
This recipe was disgusting. Sugar cookies are not supposed to be spicy. The nutmeg makes it taste gross. I waisted a lot of ingredients on this lousy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2001
I don't see how you won't eat any other sugar cookie ... you must eat no sugar cookies. I wasted a lot of time and effort on this. I could not roll it out at all ... not after fridge, flour, and freezer. It is Valentine's day, and I was hoping to make something for my fiance. All I got was a mess. Maybe it is the humidity or something ... but I found this recipe impossible and am sorely disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
These are great cookies ... not too sweet, "puffy", and perfect for decorating large shapes. Not too good for detailed work, but one that we come back to often. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
These cookies are the worst I have ever tried to make. The dough never becomes workable. It just stays like a chocolate chip cookie dough, not matter how much flour or refrigeration used. When they did make it into the oven they took 20 minutes to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
Great cookies! I made my first sugar cookies with this recipe. Yes the dough was hard to work with, but it was worth it. It has been a week and are still soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
This recipe was alright. Even after refridgerating the dough for several hours it was way too soft and sticky to work with for rolling and cutting out the cookies. I had to knead in a LOT of extra flour to get it a good consistency to work with. Other than that it's a pretty good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
No offense, but these were the worst sugar cookies I have ever tasted. The dough was a sticky, gooey mess, even after chilling for several hours. The tablespoon of vinegar should have tipped me off, however I thought I would at least try it. Never have I had a cookie with vinegar, even this small amount. My little niece took two bites and started to gag. Needless to say, the recipe was shredded....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
As you can see by the prior reviews, making the cookies is difficult I will admit. But all there is to it is to just add more flour (like 2 cups or more) or even chill in the fridge for a few hrs. Bu my cookies came out nicely puffy, soft, and flavorful. The cookies do rise and expand like 2/3 the origional size, so they're not good for decorating much. I added colorful christmas sugar and cut them into star shapes. They looked and tasted great! The cookie's nutmeg flavor might not be to everyone's liking so I recommend skipping the nutmeg and/or adding a personal flavor to the recipe. But they are definately good tasting and soooo soft!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States