Soft Sugar Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
Wow... I've been looking for a sugar cookie recipe for a long time. This is the BEST! Thank you for sharing it with us! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
I didn't care for the dry, cakey texture. Also, I prefer a sugar cookie made with real butter. These didn't taste homemade because of the shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2005
The nutmeg gives this cookie a commercial flavor--I think it tastes a lot like the refridgerated pre-made cookie dough. These cookies get absolutely HUGE so use a smaller-sized cutter, unless you want cookies the size of your hand (or bigger!). Additionally, the cookies have an airy texture too them, I prefer my sugar cookies to be dense, thick, and faintly lemony. This is a good recipe, however, next time I will reduce the leavening and substitute some lemon juice and lemon zest for vanilla and nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
I have been looking for a recipe like this for a long time. Yes the dough is sticky, but you just need to use alot of flour when rolling them out. I omitted the nutmeg and we all loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2004
As you can see by the prior reviews, making the cookies is difficult I will admit. But all there is to it is to just add more flour (like 2 cups or more) or even chill in the fridge for a few hrs. Bu my cookies came out nicely puffy, soft, and flavorful. The cookies do rise and expand like 2/3 the origional size, so they're not good for decorating much. I added colorful christmas sugar and cut them into star shapes. They looked and tasted great! The cookie's nutmeg flavor might not be to everyone's liking so I recommend skipping the nutmeg and/or adding a personal flavor to the recipe. But they are definately good tasting and soooo soft!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
No offense, but these were the worst sugar cookies I have ever tasted. The dough was a sticky, gooey mess, even after chilling for several hours. The tablespoon of vinegar should have tipped me off, however I thought I would at least try it. Never have I had a cookie with vinegar, even this small amount. My little niece took two bites and started to gag. Needless to say, the recipe was shredded....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2004
This recipe was alright. Even after refridgerating the dough for several hours it was way too soft and sticky to work with for rolling and cutting out the cookies. I had to knead in a LOT of extra flour to get it a good consistency to work with. Other than that it's a pretty good recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2003
Great cookies! I made my first sugar cookies with this recipe. Yes the dough was hard to work with, but it was worth it. It has been a week and are still soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
These cookies are the worst I have ever tried to make. The dough never becomes workable. It just stays like a chocolate chip cookie dough, not matter how much flour or refrigeration used. When they did make it into the oven they took 20 minutes to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
These are great cookies ... not too sweet, "puffy", and perfect for decorating large shapes. Not too good for detailed work, but one that we come back to often. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States