Soft Sugar Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
No offense, ladies, but I tried this recipe and it turned out perfectly for me so you must've done something wrong. I'm 18 years old...this was my very first try. I think it's better to knead the dough and add a little more flour as you go along. Also, dont put both the sugar and brown sugar in at the same time. It'll make it all gooey. I added the brown sugar last, kneaded it and then rolled it out. It was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
I totally disagree with everyone who is giving a bad review. i thought they were fine. my mom and nephew are in love with these cookies. the only thing was that they need to be cooked longer than it says here cuz some of them turned out raw..thanks for sharing..i will for sure make these again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2006
My 9 year old and I found this recipe because she loves to bake. For us the cookies turned out fine. The shortening works good - she did all the measuring and I watched as she pretty much "packed" the flour into the measuring cup, so maybe that was the trick. We had no problems with the dough being too sticky, just refloured the board about 3 times as we kneaded the dough. They do need icing or something. My daughter dipped hers in maple syrup and loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2006
Not real sweet. good and chewy though. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KatyKenziJaydon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
The dough on this recipe was WAY too sticky even after I chilled it for a couple hours...so I had to add about 2 cups of flour...and they turned out WAY too soft after they were cooked...and they didn't really taste like sugar cookies...I will not use this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cheligurl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Laguna Hills, California, USA
Living In: Van Alstyne, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2006
This recipe was ok. I wasn't sure if I wanted to add the milk and vinegar mix, but I did and it made it super runny, so I added almost 2 more cups of flour, which made the cookies really fluffy, almost like cakies. They don't really look or taste like sugar cookies either... Other than that, the cookies really need icing otherwise they are a little boring, probably wouldn't use that much nutmeg either.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
Yeah, it's hard to work with, but most recipes are. If you're substituting, remember that butter is different than shortening and they write the recipe specifically for shortening or butter, not the other way around. I liked these cookies, and all the people that tried them agreed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2006
I don't like to write a bad review, but this recipe did not work for us at all. The consistency was right for making cookies before I added in the milk - which I 'soured' with lemon juice instead of vinegar - but was more like cake batter after. I also used butter instead of shortening. After refrigerating for hours, I' dropped' a dozen on a cookie sheet because they would not roll and cut out. They spread out flat (the butter)and did not cook through in 12 minutes. I gave two stars because the taste had potential.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
These are very soft and superb! frosting is needed to make these a smash hit. Just left plain is a bit boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Donna L Whitaker
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
My whole family loved these cookies. They are big, soft and so delicious. They are well worth the time it takes to make them. Make sure when you make these great cookies you also use the sugar cookie frosting recipe submitted by the same person that submitted this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna L Whitaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeport, Texas, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Chewy Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make a wonderfully versatile sugar cookie recipe.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States