Soft Sugar Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2000
I made these cookies last Christmas, and they were the most popular food item there. My extended family expects them for every occaision. The are big , soft (never get hard), and very tasty. The dough is VERY difficult to work with, though, so I keep it in the freezer and only role out a small amount at a time with lots of flour. It's worth it, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2006
These are very soft and superb! frosting is needed to make these a smash hit. Just left plain is a bit boring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2000
These cookies are excellent! A little harder to work with than most dough, you have to make sure it's well refridgerated before you roll out, but well worth the extra effort. Also, I didn't like the way the nutmeg made it taste, so I skipped that ingredient.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
These are great cookies ... not too sweet, "puffy", and perfect for decorating large shapes. Not too good for detailed work, but one that we come back to often. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Scranton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 21, 2005
I have been looking for a recipe like this for a long time. Yes the dough is sticky, but you just need to use alot of flour when rolling them out. I omitted the nutmeg and we all loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
Wow... I've been looking for a sugar cookie recipe for a long time. This is the BEST! Thank you for sharing it with us! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Donna
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2006
My whole family loved these cookies. They are big, soft and so delicious. They are well worth the time it takes to make them. Make sure when you make these great cookies you also use the sugar cookie frosting recipe submitted by the same person that submitted this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Donna

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bridgeport, Texas, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
Yeah, it's hard to work with, but most recipes are. If you're substituting, remember that butter is different than shortening and they write the recipe specifically for shortening or butter, not the other way around. I liked these cookies, and all the people that tried them agreed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
No offense, ladies, but I tried this recipe and it turned out perfectly for me so you must've done something wrong. I'm 18 years old...this was my very first try. I think it's better to knead the dough and add a little more flour as you go along. Also, dont put both the sugar and brown sugar in at the same time. It'll make it all gooey. I added the brown sugar last, kneaded it and then rolled it out. It was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2009
I love these big soft sugar cookies! The only thing that I would change is to make them a little sweeter, but since they are always served with frosting, it balances out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

How to Make Sugar Cookies

Watch how to make the essential holiday cookie.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States