Soft Sugar Cookies I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2001
I don't see how you won't eat any other sugar cookie ... you must eat no sugar cookies. I wasted a lot of time and effort on this. I could not roll it out at all ... not after fridge, flour, and freezer. It is Valentine's day, and I was hoping to make something for my fiance. All I got was a mess. Maybe it is the humidity or something ... but I found this recipe impossible and am sorely disappointed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
43 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2004
No offense, but these were the worst sugar cookies I have ever tasted. The dough was a sticky, gooey mess, even after chilling for several hours. The tablespoon of vinegar should have tipped me off, however I thought I would at least try it. Never have I had a cookie with vinegar, even this small amount. My little niece took two bites and started to gag. Needless to say, the recipe was shredded....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2008
No offense, ladies, but I tried this recipe and it turned out perfectly for me so you must've done something wrong. I'm 18 years old...this was my very first try. I think it's better to knead the dough and add a little more flour as you go along. Also, dont put both the sugar and brown sugar in at the same time. It'll make it all gooey. I added the brown sugar last, kneaded it and then rolled it out. It was fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2002
These cookies are the worst I have ever tried to make. The dough never becomes workable. It just stays like a chocolate chip cookie dough, not matter how much flour or refrigeration used. When they did make it into the oven they took 20 minutes to bake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2001
This recipe was disgusting. Sugar cookies are not supposed to be spicy. The nutmeg makes it taste gross. I waisted a lot of ingredients on this lousy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2000
I made these cookies last Christmas, and they were the most popular food item there. My extended family expects them for every occaision. The are big , soft (never get hard), and very tasty. The dough is VERY difficult to work with, though, so I keep it in the freezer and only role out a small amount at a time with lots of flour. It's worth it, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2007
I totally disagree with everyone who is giving a bad review. i thought they were fine. my mom and nephew are in love with these cookies. the only thing was that they need to be cooked longer than it says here cuz some of them turned out raw..thanks for sharing..i will for sure make these again and again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2006
Yeah, it's hard to work with, but most recipes are. If you're substituting, remember that butter is different than shortening and they write the recipe specifically for shortening or butter, not the other way around. I liked these cookies, and all the people that tried them agreed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2005
Wow... I've been looking for a sugar cookie recipe for a long time. This is the BEST! Thank you for sharing it with us! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2005
I didn't care for the dry, cakey texture. Also, I prefer a sugar cookie made with real butter. These didn't taste homemade because of the shortening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 34) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Soft Sugar Cookies IV

These addictive cookies are soft and just right for decorating.

Sugar Cookies

So easy to make, sugar cookies make perfect treats any time of year!

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States