Soft Sandwich Buns (Dough Hook Mixer Version) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2012
Yes, this is absolutely the BEST sandwich bun recipe available! Our grandkids love them with PB&J. A favorite for Hamburgers and Hot Dogs. I make the dough in my bread machine, following manufacturer's instructions for order of ingredients. (Hint: I always sprinkle the sugar over the flower, dividing the salt on either end of pan, and putting the yeast in an indentation in the center. The sugar aids the yeast, but the salt will kill yeast if it touches it.) I shape the 12 rolls for King Arthur's Hamburger-Roll pans which have been greased with Crisco shortening. AFTER the rolls have risen to a large size, I carefully brush the tops with a mixture of 1 Tablespoon Milk, 1 Egg Yolk, beaten, and 1/4 teaspoon Salt using a Fan Art Brush. Bake at 350 degrees for 10 minutes or until tops are light golden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2012
This is the absolute best sandwich bun I have ever had! My family uses them for everything...hot or cold sandwiches, hamburgers, PB&J, egg sandwiches, you name it! The recipe is super easy and fairly quick. As with everything else homemade, you will never buy buns again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by veriia
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Followed this mostly as directed and came out great. I had to proof my yeast so I took a tsp. of the sugar called for and added it to 1/4 cup warm water for proofing. I had to use a bit more flour but that is a variable that changes with so many factors anyway. I add flour until the dough feels right, not exactly as called for. I ended up letting the dough mix in the mixer for about 7 minutes total between low to medium speed. The dough was a soup before adding the rest of the called for flour. I added some milk to the melted butter to brush the rolls. My last proof time was less than called for and the rolls continued to puff up while cooking. I hand shaped them and baked on silicone mats (see the picture I posted). I made 10 rolls that fit burgers well. These are not flaky like store bought rolls but they are an even better texture, reminiscent of pizza rolls (gluten formation dependent on mixing times). They are fairly light and springy. Although they puffed a bit tall, they compress easily when biting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
wonderful ,easy recipe! I followed the recipe exact only I used half the sugar. the rolls are awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
These are fantastic! The entire family loves them and that is a big deal with a family of five. They are time consuming to make, but easy even if you don't make bread all the time. Well worth it! Thanks for sharing the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2012
These turned out so well! The only thing I changed was to use half whole wheat flour. I made 12 buns and they're the perfect size for sandwiches. I used them for burgers last night and they were great. Other recipes I've tried have come out dense and not good for sandwiches but these were perfect. I highly recommend them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2013
This was a great recipe, and I think it can be adapted perfectly for crescent rolls at Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Binghamton, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2013
These turned out nicely. I like the taste, the size, and the texture. I think I even messed up a little on the rise, so I can't wait to make them again! These are now our daily sandwich breads (I vowed to not buy store bread again)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2013
Oh... my... gaaawwd! This is the best recipe for soft buns ever! I used the garlic butter I made and added cumin powder to the recipe. I also turned them into cresent rolls by dividing the dough in two and rolling out into round. Made 24 medium cresent rolls. So soft, so good. The house smells wonderful and my tongue is actually curves in a smiling gesture. Thank you! MAKE THESE. They are very adaptable too in terms of seasonings. One could add thyme, rosemary, etc. Love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2013
This was fantastic! I had to hide the buns, so they'd last for another meal! We did cut down the sugar, too, but overall it was amazing. Perfect with butter or as a sandwich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Quick Yeast Rolls

These tasty rolls come together quickly--and disappear just as fast!

French Baguettes

A bread machine makes quick work of the dough for these delicious baguettes.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States