Soft Pumpkin Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2014
Instead of the puree, I used pumpkin pie filling and it worked wonders. It wasn't bland and though it was chewy, it wasn't bad at all (:
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Madeleine Mulay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2013
Loved it after I fixed it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Rolla, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
YES folks these cookies ARE "cake-like"! Whenever you see the would "SOFT" in the title of a cookie recipe that's exactly what youre going to get... a cake-like cookie. These were just what I expected and turned out perfectly. I ramped up the spices and added chopped pecans and softened cranberries (cranberries soaked in boiling water for 15 min and then drained) and they were PERFECT.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Annapolis, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2012
I was looking for a soft pumpkin cookie recipe and this turned out pretty much at the texture/consistency I was looking for. Definitely more muffin-like/chewy than regular cookies as others have mentioned, but that's what I wanted. I doubled the recipe because I wanted to use a full 2-cups of pumpkin (I made my own purée and allotted it in 2-cup increments). I also made several adjustments: I doubled (again) the butter content (for a total of 4 Tbsp), used 3/4 cup brown sugar and 3/4 cup white sugar (so 1.5 total for the doubled recipe), cut the vanilla to 1 tsp., and added 1 tsp of pumpkin pie spice. I eliminated the walnuts. The flavor was good, but very mild. If I make this again, I'll add more pumpkin pie spice and possibly more pumpkin to kick up the flavor. And as others have mentioned, definitely grease the cookie sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2012
I loved these cookies! I used chocolate chips instead of walnuts, and they were very soft and tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2012
BUTTER!!!! 1 table spoon is not enough! this recipe has great potential-but is unacceptable as it!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
These aren't bad, though I wouldn't call them cookies. I added 1 tsp pumpkin pie spice and a dash of cinnamon, I imagine without those spices they would be rather bland. While mixing them up I thought the dough looked more like bread dough and that was also how they turned out once they were baked, more bread like than cookie like. Still tasty but lacking as far as cookies go.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
I make these without the glaze and they are delish!!! Love them and are one of my favorites!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2011
these were great with a few adjustments! Here's what i did: add 1 1/2 tsp. pumkin pie spice, use 1/2 a cup brown sugar and 1/2 white, i used homemade pumkin puree which was really watery so i added more flour also. they were really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love2Bake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
I loved the consistency of these cookies!! They stayed soft for a week and were absolutely delicious! I added dark chocolate chips and spices (cinnamon, nutmeg, ginger, and allspice) to give it some pumpkin pie flavor otherwise the pumpkin was a bit overpowering. All in all, very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rhiannon

Cooking Level: Expert


Displaying results 1-10 (of 35) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Iced Pumpkin Cookies

See how to make spicy, frosted pumpkin cookies.

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States