Soft Pretzels I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2008
MMmm... Very good! This was my first time making pretzels and I am quite pleased with the turn-out! They were very nice, crunchy on the outside and soft on the inside! A little bland but that can be fixed. I did'nt keep them in the water/baking soda mixture for as long as a minute though. about 30 seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2008
awesome the first day, but a little chewy the next.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Bozeman, Montana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
This is my first attempt at making pretzels and they were great! Someone mentioned that there is too much water. The first measurement of 1 1/3 cup is what you use to make the dough. The 4 cups is for boiling with the baking soda. I let the dough rise before shaping and that worked out well. I also didn't have kosher salt, just regular, but they were still so good! Would be even better with some cheese sauce for dipping. They tasted best fresh but reheated ok in the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
they got soggy fast, but good fresh.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waterford, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Saint Paul, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2008
This recipe was great! I made these with my 3 1/2 year old daughter today and she had a blast! We actually made 8 regular pretzels and then used the dough for the other 4 to make cool shapes. We rolled the dough to about 1/8-1/4 inch and used cookie cutters to make shape pretzels. I baked them on a separate cookie sheet and decreased the time by about 2 minutes. She just thinks it's so cool to eat a pretzel "K" or "star". Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
kosher salt ruins is, just use reguar salt. if i could i woodn't give this reci pe any stars!!!! :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 11, 2008
This was so much fun to do! My recipe only yielded 5 pretzels =D The boyfriend and I did monster ones. For mine, I used 3 cups bread flour and 1 cup all purpose. I let the dough rise as a whole (not in its pretzel shape) on a cookie sheet, on a bit of buttered foil then I covered the dough with another bit of ungreased foil and THEN covered that with a kitchen towel. I sat the whole thing over a large bowl of hot water to help it rise. After we formed the giant pretzels, I baked them for a 5 minutes at 300 degrees and then boiled them. They were a lot easier to handle that way. I took them out of the bath and put them on a paper towel to kind of drain and then cooked them. As far as baking time, always watch your oven. The recipe says 12 minutes, and I did mine for 7. Oven times always differ so make sure you're in the room and you're SMELLING for doneness. Once you go "ooh, I smell pretzels" they're a minute or two from coming out. Anyway, They were better than the mall ones. My boyfriend and I enjoyed our spoils quite nicely. I've tried 2 other pretzel recipes that were 'quick and easy' and they just tasted rushed and doughy and not in a good way. Take the time to do it deliciously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2008
These are really yummy! After having the pretzels at the mall for a snack yesterday, I decided to try to make them at home. The recipe I used was very similar to this one. I added a bit more water to the dough, used 4t of baking soda in the water bath and baked them for 12 min at 400 degrees. I dipped some of them in melted butter and sprinkled them with coarse salt. The others were dipped in the butter and then in cinnamon and sugar. I made 12 med sized pretzels out of the batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ventura, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2006
i tried this recipie 3 times they all came out like rocks...i love soft pretzels and will continue to look for soft pretzel recipies any help or suggestions would be nice
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
This was not very good, didn't even taste like a pretzel, it was more croissant-like.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Skye

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 61) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Buttery Soft Pretzels

These are so much better, and cheaper, than mall pretzels!

Baked Pretzels

See how easy it is to make ballpark-style soft pretzels.

Mall Pretzels

Make these yeasty, chewy pretzels at home. Your family will love them.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States