Soft Pretzels I Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2014
Pretzels turned out really good. Not chewy or doughy at all. I did put more water in to boil with baking soda, it seemed like it would not be enough water then adjusted the baking soda amount.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris V

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sussex, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Georgetown, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2014
Very simple recipe. Substituted vegetable oil for the butter. Simply delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kelly h.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2014
Pretty tasty! I skipped the boiling step for most of them. I worked in a mall pretzel place years ago and so I did what I learned there instead - give them a quick dip in room temp. baking soda water. (fill a baking dish or large bowl 1/2 full of water and add baking soda until very slightly cloudy. Lift a pretzel using two hands "hooking" it through holes with your fingers, give it a dip in the water, then shake off the excess water and put on cookie sheet). Also, I let the dough rise BEFORE forming the pretzels instead of after. They looked and tasted great!! (I did try one pretzel with the boiling method but it came out chewy and a tiny bit soggy.) Also, when you are shaping the pretzels make sure to tuck the bottoms under and give them a pinch so they don't come loose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2013
Easy and delicious! I baked mine for an additional 2 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TRUESUNN

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Trenton, Michigan, USA
Living In: Flat Rock, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2013
Made these for the first time ever and I will never waste my money on mall pretzels again. very easy and fun to make. My kids and husband loved them. The dough was a little tough to knead and it did not rise as much as it should have but they were still a hit!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
These were delicious. Let the dough rise as a large ball instead of individual pretzels. Reduced the oven temperature to 350 for 12 minutes. Sprinkled with kosher salt before cooking, then brushed with melted butter after cooked.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Veritas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA
Living In: Johns Creek, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
Made these, and it was my first time baking pretzels. Followed the recipe to the t, and they turned out perfect! Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 29, 2012
I loved this recipe. The dough worked well and was SO easy to knead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: West Hartford, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
so delicious! The dough was pretty tough and not elasticy at all, but that is likely due to my cold house and my water not being warm enough at the start, but regardless it turned out perfect! I used another recipes direction on baking, boiled them in a bath of 4cups water to 4 tablespoons of baking soda for approx. 1 minute turning once, and then baking at 400 degrees for 12-14 minutes, top or middle rack so they dont burn. Baste with butter once cooked and they are delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Nijia
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2011
Other than my inability to roll out the the dough they are freakin awesome ^_^
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Buttery Soft Pretzels

These are so much better, and cheaper, than mall pretzels!

Baked Pretzels

See how easy it is to make ballpark-style soft pretzels.

Mall Pretzels

Make these yeasty, chewy pretzels at home. Your family will love them.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States