Soft Polenta with Spicy Tomato Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2001
This turned out to be a wonderful Valentines Day dinner for two. The sauce was wonderful -- we added more mushrooms and left out the green onions and enjoyed it immensely! We actually simmered the sauce for about three hours and thought it really helped the flavor intensify. For the polenta, we used only cornmeal and it turned out wonderfully.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2006
My husband and I LOVED this recipe! It was so good and it was our first polenta recipe. The only differences I made were that I used regular mushrooms rather than portabella (as they are not my favorite) and I added more red pepper flakes as we like things spicy! This was SO GOOD - just loved the parm and the green onions in the polenta - I thought it was a wonderful addition. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Holland, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2001
This was sooo gooood! However, I didn't put as many green onions in the polenta - I just put in one bunch, and I didn't use the quinoa. The tomato sauce was excellent. Thanks, Jen!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by gapch1026
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
I was desperately looking for something new to use some of the overabundance of roma tomatoes from the garden. Used about 5 peeled and whole romas (for 2 servings) and balsamic vinegar instead of sherry. A keeper recipe with or without the quinoa.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gapch1026

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2007
This recipe was delicious!!! I loved the quinoa in the polenta, and the tomato sauce was quite tasty. I didn't use as much onion as was called for, but otherwise followed the recipe. Looking forward to having this again--thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2009
Be sure to have bread on the side!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kenny G

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2007
Very good. I had to cook the polenta a little longer to get the consistency that I wanted but it was "lick you plate clean" good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 30, 2006
This turned out great. Great presentation. Great combination of flavors with the mildness of the polenta and the sweet spiciness of the sauce. A great romantic dinner for me and my girlfriend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2003
My husband loved this. I found the sauce a little too sweet. I may try a different sauce next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flemingsburg, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2002
Portobello mushrooms add a wonderful flavour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 18) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Lamb Meatballs in Spicy Eggplant Tomato Sauce

See how to make mini lamb balls in a spicy tomato and eggplant sauce.

Penne with Spicy Vodka Tomato Cream Sauce

See how to make a classic vodka and tomato cream sauce with a kick.

How to Make Roasted Tomato Sauce

See how to make roasted tomato sauce served with goat cheese and pasta.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States