Soft Pineapple Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
Trying to replace a similar recipe I tried making these cookies. They turned out much more dry than what I expected and the flavor just wasn't there. I think if i would not have drained the pineapple so heavily they wouldn't have been so dry. My advice drain the excess juice but don't sqeeze out the juice from the meat of the pineapple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2006
Awesome cookies... so soft and chewy. My kids, my husband and I can't stay away from them. I think i'm going to have to make some more today!! Be sure to keep them on the pan for 5 minutes before removing to the cooling rack. They have to "set" before you can remove them --otherwise, they'll fall apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2000
Wow! These were good. Except, I did not have shortening, so I used butter. Also, I made a cream cheese icing and threw some pineapple chunks in it. Yum! Since this was something for work, I added a slice of strawberry to the top. Not bad. Guess I'll find out tomorrow! ;-) -Tammy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2005
I made these tonight, and I have a few comments... first, my fault, I should have drained the crushed pineapple better I guess because my batter/dough, while light and fluffy, was very wet. So the first cookie sheet I baked the full 10 minutes and took out becuase I was afraid the bottoms would burn. Well I shouldnt have worried - they were so underdone I had to toss them. The next batch I baked longer, and increased the oven temp slightly - these turned out much better. The cookie doesnt spread hardly at all, so if your "rounded spoonfuls" are not perfectly smooth, the cookies will be rather odd shaped, needing icing or something to pretty them up. All of that aside, the cookie is just boring. I was looking forward to trying a new flavor/ingredient in my cookie baking, but I am disappointed. The cakelike texture is fine with me, as is the level of sweetness. But it's missing something. Maybe follow the suggestion of another reviewer to add walnuts or coconut. I probably wont make these again unless someone new reviews the recipe and has some suggestions on improving it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Commack, New York, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2002
Delicious and easy! The cookies are soft almost cake-like and have a great pineapple flavor. These are great to make for something different. Next time I am going to try adding some coconut and walnuts for a more hawaiian flavor!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cathy's Kitchen

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marilla, New York, USA
Living In: Acworth, Georgia, USA
Reviewed: May 4, 2005
We loved them! I looked for a recipe to use up a big can of crushed pineapple in the pantry. The cookies were simple and turned out light, just a little sweet, soft and fluffy. I had never made or eaten pineapple cookies so I was very delighted! My daughter insisted on pink cookies and so we added some pink food coloring. Might make more sense with yellow. Thanks for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 29, 2009
Good. Very fluffy. I substituted butter for shortening. I'd like to try it with white sugar. Keep them small. They tend to spread a lot. They seem to have a sheen to them while they're still hot, so it was a little tricky sometimes to just look at them and know if they were done.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2007
Very good and light (not necessarily calorie wise). I took them to a neighborhood get together and they went over very well. I had to bake them longer than the 8 to 10. I had a hard time telling when to take them out. I thought there was just a little something lacking maybe cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wooster, Ohio, USA
Living In: Fort Mill, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
I thought these turned out great! They were nice and soft, and had a great flavor that wasn't too sweet, wasn't too bland. I used a 12 oz. can of crushed pineapple instead of the 8 oz and just added a little bit more flour to make up for the added moisture. Thought they were great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Omaha, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Hackensack, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Thank you! great recipe! We added 1 cup dried cranberries and half cup of coconut to the recipe and everyone loved them :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 30) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States