Soft Peanut Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 22, 2007
If I were to rate on flavor alone I would rate it a 5. If you are going to use this recipe you really need to pay attention to them because they can easily overbake. The recipe says to take them out when the edges turn a light brown, but in my experience the edges never changed color. I was afraid I was going to underbake them so I kept waiting for them to change and they didn't. I finally took them out and the overbaked product was crumbly. With the next batch I just took them out at 9 minutes and they turned out great. So watch your time, not the edges!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
341 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kel514

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
these cookies are awesome. I did alter them a bit though. First, I added 3/4 cup peanutbutter (instead of 1/2). I used 1/2 cup honey in the place of sugar like someone else recommended. Plus I also replaced 3/4 cup of flour with oats. The result was really soft and peanutbuttery cookies. I took them to a party and someone said "Hope your are not expecting to leave with any of these"
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
238 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2007
YUMMY! These came out great. I followed other people's suggestions and did the following: Used 3/4 cup oats in place of 3/4 cup flour. Used both wheat and white flour. 1/4 cup honey to substitute the brown sugar. Pressed fork crisscross into cookies 7 minute into baking. Let bake 2 minutes more after that. The cookie dough is much runnier than regular pbutter cookie dough, but don't worry! It is supposed to be that way. Because of this you really cannot "roll" them. You just have to place them by rounded teaspoons onto the pan. Aside from what I wrote above, I followed the recipe. I know someone else mentioned that they used butter, but I used margarine (SmartBalance) and it worked fine. Thank you for this recipe! They are soft and delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
105 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jules

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Leyden, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
The cookies were good but definately needed more peanut butter in them. First off, I hate it when people rate the recipe based off of their version!! Please do not rate recipes unless you have tried them exactly as written. Otherwise post your own recipe with the changes you thought were better. It's very annoying to look through recipes and find a million different versions and rated randomly. I want to know what people thought of this particular recipe...not yours!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
104 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dixiegirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Midlothian, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2008
I made the cookies exactly as written, and agree with the others that they need more peanut butter. I think 3/4 cup peanut butter would be about right. Cooked them for 8 minutes and took them out of the oven. Allowed them to sit on the cookie sheet for a few minutes to set, then moved them to a cooling rack. After cooling, they are crisp on the outside, soft on the inside. They do seem like they could become crunchy cookies in a day or so though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KRISTEN02

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Pflugerville, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by car
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
The recipe is just what I needed for the famous "peanut butter hershey kiss" cookies. The cookies came out great (but I listened to the other reviews and put in 3/4 c. of peanut butter).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by car

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Morton Grove, Illinois, USA
Living In: Skokie, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2006
This was just the recipe I was looking for. I doubled the recipe to create less work later...made about 6 dozen cookies with double batch. I also added a bit more peanut butter. Since I am a fan of cookies with chips in them, I also put in a cup of Ghirardelli 60% cocoa chips. The turned out just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Klonoaphile

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Henry, Illinois, USA
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2006
Wonderful Recipe!! I personally like to cook them in muffin pans b/c it makes them easy to pack as lunch snacks and are cute and yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2006
Awesome! Replaced margarine with butter, and used whole wheat graham flour instead of all purpose. Turned out great with the textured flour, and more fiber-Boyfriend loved them and said a 9 out of 10.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2006
They were decent when fresh but hard when rewarmed from freezer.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 315) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Gluten-Free Peanut Butter Cookies

These 5-star cookies have big peanutty taste and zero gluten.

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States