Soft Onion Sandwich Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2010
Great recipe, I have made this one at least 5 times now, I use it anytime I want a good sandwich roll or hamburger bun. I use fresh onions that I saute in a pan and than add to the mix, I also use 2.5t of yeast. Loved them thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Athenarose

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Mesa, Arizona, USA
Living In: Kodiak, Alaska, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2010
Our local grocery store used to have good onion rolls, but they changed their recipe lately and they just don't do it for us anymore. I searched and found this recipe and decided to try it. Okay, I changed a few things. I don't have dried onions, onion powder, or potato flakes, so I used finely minced yellow onion, which I squeezed some juice from (in a strainer over the measuring cup), and then sauteed the onion lightly in butter. I used the onion juice to replace some of the water in the dough. I microwaved a small potato and used about 1/3 cup of it in the dough. I used a KitchenAid mixer instead of a bread machine. I replaced 1 cup of flour with white whole wheat flour. While baking, the house smelled heavenly, and the rolls are perfect and delicious. They are large, though, so maybe next time I'll make ten. Thank you for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by laurensvt

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
These rolls were delicious!!! I actually misread the directions and didn't add minced onions into the dough, only onion powder. I didn't have dried onions, so I cut up an onion and sauteed it in the pan and sprinkled it on top of the rolls before baking. Even without additional onions in the dough, it was still so yummy! Can't wait to make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cruisergirl21

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2009
This is very good & very easy. I made them the "old fashioned" way - sans bread machine or fancy mixer. Just measuring cups/spoons, a bowl & my 2 hands (tho I did use a digital thermometer to temp my water so I didn't accidentally kill the yeast)I had a roast in the crockpot & wanted to use the leftovers to make sandwiches for lunch the next couple of days but had no bread in the house & am trying to improvise from items in the house instead of running to the store. I am NOT an accomplished bread cook - I've made Parmesan herb bread 2X (the one from this site that cooks in a 2 qt casserole dish) & Jay's pizza dough once. If I can make this by hand, anyone can. Oh & after my limited experience making "yeast" products by hand, I may never use my bread machine again, as I loathe dragging it from it's storage location, layering the ingredients, cleaning it after use & putting it away again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2009
These were very tasty rolls. Did have a little problem with the 2nd raise, but that may have been my fault. Will definately try again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phyllis

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2009
These rolls are awesome! I didn't have onion powder or dried minced onion, so I used real onion and finely chopped it. Then I melted the 3 tablespoons of butter and sauteed the onions in it so the butter was infused with the onion flavor. The result was wonderful! I had one this morning with an egg and ham on it. Delicious! I will make these again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola
Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2009
These were absolutely fantastic with the Philly Cheesesteak from this site. I made as written with the dried onions but I did top them with sesame seeds instead as I thought there was enough onion flavor going on. I shaped into 6 hoagie rolls and they held up perfectly to the "sloppy" cheesesteaks. I would definitely make these again, and so easy using the bread machine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cindy in Pensacola

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Stockton, California, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA
Photo by MrsHappyHomemaker
Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2009
Awesome recipe! I used sauteed onion in place of the dried minced, and added a little on top before baking for appearance. I served the Original Italian Beef, from this site, on them & some melted provolone. I will definatly be making these again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MrsHappyHomemaker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Staley, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Asheboro, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2009
GOOD RECIPE, but not "wow" Made w/o bread machine...I will probably make again. My husband suggested I add cheese and garlic and serve as dinner rolls. Might just try that. We had with Philly cheese steak...mmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wendy4876

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Memphis, Arkansas, USA
Living In: Dunlap, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2009
didn't rise much ... flavor was pretty good though
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Baked Pretzels

See how easy it is to make ballpark-style soft pretzels.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States