Soft Onion Sandwich Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2010
I made these for dinner one evening for hamburgers. The family loved them! Will definitely be making these again. Can't wait to make them for a party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Awesome taste, super easy. Did not change a thing. Made spicy chicken salad to eat with it. Kids loved it too. Only half of the rolls made it to the supper table. Will be making this again in the near near future!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heather berglund
Home Town: Lewellen, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2010
These turned out rather nice despite my budding bread making skills. This recipe is so easy as the bread machine does most of the work. I cannot for the life of me divide dough evenly. When I must even it out I'm forever dealing with separating creases that refuse to smooth out and blend completely. I worry that this may make the end product full of air holes. I fear the extra handling may cause tough bread. I'm also very shape challenged. Make a round mound? Heart, oval, square, oblong... everything but! This recipe is hardly to blame for my failings and I shouldn't be so hard on myself. Bread making takes much practice. If shaping ability is a main shortcoming, then I should be grateful and happy. And I really am. Tonight I made steak sandwiches a la Pioneer Woman. Normally I go for the bakery made onion buns but I'm pinching pennies and had the ingredients for these rolls. I followed a re-viewer's suggestion to top with caramelized onions; A wonderful tip but I must find a way to make the onion bits to stick to the bun tops better. These rolls had great flavour and just about perfect density. Perfect for a dinner sandwich. Thank you for the great recipe. I will make these again for sure. Practice, practice, practice!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cynjne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Apr. 19, 2010
These were awesome! i used acutal sauteed onion instead of the powder and dried onion. That was the onbly change, and THEY were out of this world!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
I made these for leftover smoked turkey sandwiches and they were the best sandwiches I've ever eaten! I used oats instead of potato flakes because I didn't want to go to the store, added a tablespoon or more of water in the knead cycle in the bread machine, used a whole onion softened in butter and split for a little on the tops but most in the dough. I still used a little dried onion for extra flavor. I made the dough and shaped them the night before and just popped the sheet in the fridge until an hour or so before baking. They were so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kerri West

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockville, Indiana, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Suzie the Foodie
Reviewed: Apr. 1, 2010
I had to add a lot more liquid to make this dough come together, the first time was a disaster! Since then I have just added additional water to it and they are fabulous. I even wrote about them on my blog and gave them four out of five wooden spoons. Thanks so much, this recipe brought me right back to my childhood.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suzie the Foodie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2010
I diod not have any potoato flakes/hate those things so I used on small potato cooked and mashed. The dought was a little wet so added a bit mroe flour...and it worked great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2010
These rolls are awesome... I LOVE onion. But just like other reviews I had problems with my rolls rising and I used the recommended amount of yeast. The taste and moistness were still great tho.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by coley04

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2010
These are YUMMY! I will not buy them from the store again. I did alter the recipe slightly. I omitted the dried minced onions completely, upped the onion powder to 1 1/2 teaspoons and did dice and saute a small onion for the tops. I made these for BBQ pulled pork sandwiches but these are so easy to make and so good, I'd make these for anything. lol I definitely will be making these next time for hamburgers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by What's for dinner, mom?
Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2010
So GOOD! Very tasty with our stew for dinner. Made these using 1 cup of whole wheat flour and 2 cups bread flour. I added 1 tsp vital wheat gluten. Didnt have potato flakes so I tossed a small potato in the microwave and cooked it fully. About 8 minutes. I scraped out 1/4 cup, maybe a little more as I didnt wast any of the potato, and added it to tne mixture. They were so good the kids even used the leftover buns to make their lunches for school tomorrow! Will surely make this over and over again!---------------------------------------------------------------------made these again for our crab cake dinner. This time I followed the recipe exactly and did not use WW flour. Still and exellent recipe - so easy! Next up will be onion wirh RYE flour! This is a nice recipe and yo should try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States