Soft Onion Sandwich Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Great! I have made them as onion rolls and plain rolls. They turn out to be wonderful. Soft, light, and flavorful. The only difference is I let them rise a total of three times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: San Ramon, Alajuela, Costa Rica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
wonderful. I ran out of dehydrated onions. I had used them up making onion garlic bagels. I did have dried chives so I said what the heck. Can't hurt. Came out really nice with a subtle flavor of chives. Great recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by IZECREEMER

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corning, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
These were the softest, best rolls I've ever tried. Hands down better than anything you can buy at the grocery store. I didn't include the onion on top because my son wouldn't like it (he didn't like the onion inside either, so I will be making these again plain).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Very easy to make and pretty good too. Made Shrimp po'boys with these - not authentic, but they were yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
Good recipe but it does need some tweeking. Good for a starter and then you have to experiment to get it right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
These rolls are fantastic! Like others, I didn't have a bread machine-- I started with the warm milk and water, added the yeast and mixed. Then added all the other ingredients and mixed in my KitchenAid on 2 for about 8 minutes. (I left out the onion powder, added sauteed chopped onions on the tops of half of them before baking) I let the dough rise in a slightly warm oven for 1 hour, then continued with step 2. They took slightly longer to bake for me to get golden, as I use stoneware pans. About 30 minutes. But they were "better than store bought!" according to my 9 year old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I've made this recipe several times, excellent every time! To make delicious dinner rolls, omit the onion powder and minced onion, (I skip the hand-kneading step)form the dough into rolls (about 1/3 cup each), cover with damp dish towel, put into oven with a bowl of hot water until double. After cooking, rub tops with butter. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Avon, Indiana, USA
Living In: Waveland, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
I love this basic recipe. I did not make it with the onion though. The first time I used sweet potato flakes and bread flour. I made it again a few days later with roasted garlic potato flakes with bread flour. Each time they came out light and WONDERFUL. My family loves these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2008
This is a fantastic recipe! I made them for pulled pork sandwiches and it made a simple sandwich much more special. I didn't have dried onion so I sauteed 1/2 a Walla Walla sweet onion and mixed most of that in- reserving about 1/4 cup for the tops of the rolls. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jax

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Maple Valley, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2008
I don't have a bread machine. I did these with an electric mixer and the hook attachment. Good flavor, but after a day, they got really dense and they weren't any good for sandwiches anymore. I forgot to put the potato flakes in and I added them after the first rise. Maybe that's why they were dense the next day. I will try them again, and maybe use garlic instead of onion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by gastlygoul

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Avoca, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Pittston, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

Baked Soft Pretzels

Use your bread machine to make perfectly soft baked pretzels.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States