Soft Onion Sandwich Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2004
Hi Everyone, I'm Claudygirl. First, a reminder to use 2.5 teaspoons of yeast, not a package that has 2.25. Some have complained that they didn't rise well, but the recipe was changed after I submitted it. And, thank you for all the great reviews. 7?3?11: Once again, I'm updating the review of my own recipe. No, using fresh, diced and sauteed onions doesn't work for me. Bakeries have long used dehydrated onions in baking for a reason and my recent results have proved why. Good luck.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
165 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
Fabulous. I made a few modifications- I used about 1/2 of an onion, finely diced and sauteed, instead of the other onion ingredients and did not top them. I also used oats instead of potato flakes (they didn't need to be chopped up- they just melt into the dough). Another thing I altered was that I used all water. In my experience, breads made with milk get tough quickly and aren't that good unless they're super fresh. Makeing it with all water keeps it fresher longer. But these were wonderful! My husband called them "a little piece of heaven."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
73 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2008
Fantastic Onion Rolls! We’ve made them for burgers, pulled pork and lunchmeat sandwiches. We loved the onion flavor of these rolls so much that I will never buy them from the bakery again. I made one small change to the recipe since I do not have dried onions on hand and that was to sauté about 1/4 cup worth of onions to get the moisture out and they worked out fine every time. I also don’t have a bread machine which is simply to proof the yeast and only start out with 1 ½ to 2 cups of flour and knead in the last cup. Knead for the standard 8 or so minutes and let rise, covered, in a warm place for an hour or more and then follow recipe from step 2. They are Easy to make without a bread machine and Mmmmm are they sooooo good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lehigh Acres, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2004
Although I don't have a bread machine, these rolls turned out great! I used my Kitchen Aid Mixer and made them (somewhat) the old fashioned way. I did not have dried onion flakes, which, in the end I was actually happy about, because I finely diced a fresh onion and then fried in a pan until very brown. The rolls tasted bakery fresh Claudy and we were all very happy! Thanks so much for a weeks worth of lunch sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2006
Our family loves these rolls! I usually brush the tops with melted butter instead of egg white since my oldest is allergic to eggs. Be sure to note that 2.5 tsp of yeast will cause the rolls to rise better than only one pkg, which only has 2.25 tsp.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
FANTASTIC! I use these a lot, make them about once a week. Tonight we're using them toasted for French Dip sandwiches. I didn't modify the recipe in any way, so the review is "as is" and it's great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 6MOUTHS
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
Delicious! Be warned that these have a very strong onion flavor but my family loves onions so we all loved them! I agree with the reviewer who said they taste like onion bagels. I substituted the milk with water and used ground oats in place of the potato flakes. I got 14 dinner size rolls out of this recipe but will double next time and try freezing some. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6MOUTHS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
For whatever reason, my dough didn't rise, and I ended up tossing out the dough and starting from scratch, but my second batch didn't really rise much either. I shrugged my shoulders and popped the rolls in the oven anyway, and they ended up puffing up nicely while cooking. So despite all my worries, they turned out perfectly! I didn't have any dried minced onion, so I put fresh minced onion inside the dough. I flash-fried some more fresh minced onion in very hot oil for a few seconds until it was golden and put this on top of the rolls before baking. The flash-fried onions were a flavorful addition. Great recipe! We had BBQ beef sandwiches on these rolls.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: May 3, 2008
These are dry as written. I should've added more liquid but by the time i realized it was on the rise cycle and i didn't feel like adding at that point. I'd add more liquid, probably at least 2 more tbs to help it out. They do taste like onion bagels. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
Yum! Super easy & worth every bit of (little) effort involved! Even the shaping step was simple and I'm not a baker per se (which is the reason I waited so long to try these...). Made these to serve w/ slow cooker French dips (lonwolf32). I'm used to French dips on crusty bread, but as it turns out, onion rolls are an excellent substitue! I pretty much followed claudygirl's directions to the letter except for 3 (minor) changes. Not wanting tough rolls, I used all H2O. I also flash fried 1/4 c. of fresh, finely choped onion instead of using the dried minced variety in my topping mixture (I added dried onion to my dough, but didn't have enough left for the topping also). Finally, I added about an 1/8 c. of poppyseeds to my topping. The popular St. Rosen's brand onion rolls include poppyseeds in theirs, so I decided to do the same! :) NOTE: This recipe yeilds 1 lb. worth of dough. My bread machine users manual includes several recipes, one of which is an rye onion roll recipe. The 8 roll yeild instructs to chose the 1 lb. loaf setting. Additionally, your liquid should be no cooler than 98 degrees F & no warmer than 105 F to be considered "lukewarm." Oh, and be SURE to increase the amount of yeast to 2.5 t as claudy's top review suggests. Doing so will yield a batch of perfectly risen rolls! I'm SOOOO glad to have given these a try. These were FANTASTIC fresh & just as good the next day! This recipe will be added to my keeper file for sure. Thanks for sharing, claudygirl! :-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Mickey (aka Mickey)

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: De Soto, Missouri, USA
Living In: Elgin, Illinois, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States