Soft Onion Sandwich Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2009
Wonderful! I used 21/2 tsp. yeast, and did not put the topping on before baking. I did brush the buns with butter after they came out of the oven. Soft and tasty and the bottoms have a little crunch to them. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Teresa Ruzycki

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milton, Nova Scotia, Canada
Living In: Yorkton, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2009
These were absolutely delicious. Just like the onion rolls from the local bakery that I love. I'll make them again and again! Oh...as a couple of other reviewers have said, they were pretty dry as made originally. I ended up added a few extra T of water while they were still in the stand mixer to get the dough to a better consistency. (I don't use bread machines).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2009
Not a bad idea. I thought the dough had too much onion in it and it overpowered everything. I want to have the yeasty taste of the bread also. I would recommend cutting the amount of onion powder and minced onions in half.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bullcitybob

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lake Ozark, Missouri, USA
Living In: Durham, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2009
Really great rolls! They did make my entire house smell like onions, but it was worth it! I increased my yeast to 2 1/2 tsp and put in a full 1/4 cup of minced onion into the bread per the submitter's additional notes. My husband thought they tasted a bit like a biscuit, which wasn't bad, just an observation. Very flavorful and great for burgers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PULLEYHEATHER

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2009
This was my first time making rolls and they turned out well I think. I didn't have any instant potato flakes but I used quick cooking oats instead based on another review. I also substituted one cup of wholewheat flour for 1 cup AP flour. Also I was running low on Whole Wheat flour so I topped up the cup with some cornmeal. Good recipe. I will use again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2009
I ended up with 2 batches of these...the first time I accidentally added water instead of milk but didn't realize it until after the bread machine was mixing...so rather than throw it away, I just let it go and made another batch with the milk. I could hardly tell the difference. I made them by the recipe but I didn't have any onion powder left, so I omitted that...they were phenominal! We ate them warm as hamburger buns...yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2009
These are faaaaabulous! Best rolls I've ever made. The sprinkling of dried minced onion on top makes them look extra gourmet. I've added a bit of garlic powder which is nice with these too. Perfect texture and they rose beautifully. Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by notoriousJEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ONIOND
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2009
Taste on this is great. I had some trouble with the second rise though. Let me start at the beginning! I do not have a bread machine, so I proofed the yeast with the sugar and water, then added everything else (heated up the milk to 110 before adding). I was out of dried onions (shame on me) so I diced some fresh, 3 T. Then I kneaded for about ten minutes and let rise in a bowl dusted with flour in my oven, with a bowl of boiling water and the door shut. When it was just shy of double I took it out and re-kneaded, then formed into rolls on ungreased pans and put back in the oven with fresh boiling water. They took forever to rise; after an hour and a half I got impatient and did the egg wash (make sure your egg white is room temp to avoid deflating the dough), then topped with a sprinkle of fresh parmesan cheese and some flash-fried onions. Cooked about 20 minutes, they puffed a little bit more. They got a beautiful golden brown color, the house smelled absolutely divine, and the rolls tasted fantastic. They are lighter than I was expecting, I thought because they are not as big as I wanted them my air pockets would be too small for a soft bread, but they are actually really great. UPDATE: Made these again with much better luck! They are soft and flavorful and amazing with dried minced onions! First rise took about an hour, second one 50 minutes. Added poppy seeds to the top dressing :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONIOND

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Minneapolis, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Absolutely incredible. Probably the best I have had in a long time. Made the eight rolls and by the end of the night they were gone I was proud of myself. Did use the sauted onions as someone suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
These are the best!!! I used minced onion in the dough and then sauteed onion to put on top before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States