Soft Onion Sandwich Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
There were great. Did not want these to be dairy. I used soy milk instead of milk and 5 tsp of dry yeast for a double recipe. I subbed oil for butter. I egged with whole egg not just yolk and baked longer than suggested. I wrapped each in foil and froze and rewarmed in my oven - tasted like fresh baked, they were amazing. They were not very heavy on the onion flavor though if that is what you are looking for. It was subtle.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
my husband said, "These are the best things you've ever baked." No alterations to the recipe and they are spectacular---thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cyd_Delve

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Williamson, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2011
These came out very good. The recipe was along the lines of a yeast roll recipe I use. They tasted like that except with onion. I made them for pulled pork sandwiches. I didn't have any dehydrated onion so I did like some others and sauteed some raw onions until they dried out. The rolls still came out good. Thx :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kstanfield

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Columbus, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
I've made this recipe a lot! My husband loves these as hamburger buns. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lightedway
Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2011
The smell of these baking is awesome. Followed the recipe to a "T". The yeast amount is 2.5 tsp Love these rolls with a burger on them or slathered with butter right from the oven. Mmmmm UPDATE: I made this into a loaf in the bread machine layering the ingredients according to the manufacturer's recommendations. It came out awesome, sliced well and was truly great for grilled cheese and cold sandwiches too! See pic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lightedway

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Niantic, Connecticut, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2011
This was my first time making rolls with my granddaughers help. I used a breadmaker that i got at a yard sale and it worked just fine. The rolls were very good my daughter is still talking about them. I had prepared bbq beef from this site and ate with them the flavor of the onion roll with the beef was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2011
Very hard.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by It's A New Day
Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2011
Delicious, soft and oniony. I realize looking back at the recipe now that the rolls are out of the oven that I neglected to put the potato flakes in. I don't know what difference that would make because they are wonderful! I doubled the onion powder because I really wanted an onion taste, used 1 cup of whole wheat flour in place of the ap, making by hand I probably only used 2 1/2 cups of flour total. I soaked some dried minced onion in a little hot water to put on top before baking. These will make wonderful fresh tomato sandwiches! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by It's A New Day

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Purcellville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Winchester, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2011
Loved them. I make them for our hamburgers now :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Happy Camper 09

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by DIZ♥
Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2011
Mmmmmm!……….Who can resist fresh onion rolls? These are perfect and so easy to make. No bread machine required. I mixed and kneaded them in my KA, but you can easily do it by hand. You won’t be disappointed. They are truly soft and much better than store bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DIZ♥

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States