Soft Onion Sandwich Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2008
I have made these rolls many times - both with the milk/water mix and without milk (just water). So easy and they always come out perfect. They're also great with garlic instead of onion, or plain. My husband likes them for sandwiches but my favorite is warmed with butter and honey.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Worth, Texas, USA
Living In: Bellefonte, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 27, 2008
FANTASTIC! I use these a lot, make them about once a week. Tonight we're using them toasted for French Dip sandwiches. I didn't modify the recipe in any way, so the review is "as is" and it's great!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 7, 2008
These had a really good flavor but they needed more liquid. Mine came out dense and I am wondering if it is because the recipe states to knead the dough after removing it from the bread machine, that is when the dough seemed to get tough on me and I had just began to knead it. I will try this recipe again and skip that step.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Plainfield, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: May 3, 2008
These are dry as written. I should've added more liquid but by the time i realized it was on the rise cycle and i didn't feel like adding at that point. I'd add more liquid, probably at least 2 more tbs to help it out. They do taste like onion bagels. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by 6MOUTHS
Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2008
Delicious! Be warned that these have a very strong onion flavor but my family loves onions so we all loved them! I agree with the reviewer who said they taste like onion bagels. I substituted the milk with water and used ground oats in place of the potato flakes. I got 14 dinner size rolls out of this recipe but will double next time and try freezing some. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 6MOUTHS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2008
Fabulous. I made a few modifications- I used about 1/2 of an onion, finely diced and sauteed, instead of the other onion ingredients and did not top them. I also used oats instead of potato flakes (they didn't need to be chopped up- they just melt into the dough). Another thing I altered was that I used all water. In my experience, breads made with milk get tough quickly and aren't that good unless they're super fresh. Makeing it with all water keeps it fresher longer. But these were wonderful! My husband called them "a little piece of heaven."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
71 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Dorothy F
Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2008
We loved these rolls!! First of all I wanted to say how easy the dough was to work with. They came out just perfect. I used a mixed onion blend of red onions, white onions, and chives. I then sprinkled some Pecorino Romano cheese on top just before I put them the oven to bake. Thanks so much for this recipe! Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dorothy F

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Yorktown Heights, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2008
This recipe is awesome. Very easy and my family loves them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2008
Perfect! Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
Very good for barbecue!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mary

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Coventry, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Grafton, Wisconsin, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 146) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States