Soft Onion Sandwich Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2009
Absolutely incredible. Probably the best I have had in a long time. Made the eight rolls and by the end of the night they were gone I was proud of myself. Did use the sauted onions as someone suggested.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
These are the best!!! I used minced onion in the dough and then sauteed onion to put on top before baking.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
Great! I have made them as onion rolls and plain rolls. They turn out to be wonderful. Soft, light, and flavorful. The only difference is I let them rise a total of three times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Flint, Michigan, USA
Living In: San Ramon, Alajuela, Costa Rica

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
wonderful. I ran out of dehydrated onions. I had used them up making onion garlic bagels. I did have dried chives so I said what the heck. Can't hurt. Came out really nice with a subtle flavor of chives. Great recipe. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lorraine Cornish Stanton

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Corning, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
These were the softest, best rolls I've ever tried. Hands down better than anything you can buy at the grocery store. I didn't include the onion on top because my son wouldn't like it (he didn't like the onion inside either, so I will be making these again plain).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Beach, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2008
Very easy to make and pretty good too. Made Shrimp po'boys with these - not authentic, but they were yummy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by valerie160

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Springfield, Virginia, USA
Living In: Ashburn, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
Good recipe but it does need some tweeking. Good for a starter and then you have to experiment to get it right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2008
These rolls are fantastic! Like others, I didn't have a bread machine-- I started with the warm milk and water, added the yeast and mixed. Then added all the other ingredients and mixed in my KitchenAid on 2 for about 8 minutes. (I left out the onion powder, added sauteed chopped onions on the tops of half of them before baking) I let the dough rise in a slightly warm oven for 1 hour, then continued with step 2. They took slightly longer to bake for me to get golden, as I use stoneware pans. About 30 minutes. But they were "better than store bought!" according to my 9 year old!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2008
I've made this recipe several times, excellent every time! To make delicious dinner rolls, omit the onion powder and minced onion, (I skip the hand-kneading step)form the dough into rolls (about 1/3 cup each), cover with damp dish towel, put into oven with a bowl of hot water until double. After cooking, rub tops with butter. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Avon, Indiana, USA
Living In: Waveland, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2008
I love this basic recipe. I did not make it with the onion though. The first time I used sweet potato flakes and bread flour. I made it again a few days later with roasted garlic potato flakes with bread flour. Each time they came out light and WONDERFUL. My family loves these.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boston, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Kansas City, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 150) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States