Soft Onion Sandwich Rolls Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by bbb1214
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2014
I loved these rolls. I proofed the active dry yeast for 10 minutes with the sugar first. Used olive oil instead of butter and water instead of milk. I also used double amounts of onion powder and only 2 tbl of the minced. I cooked them on the second from bottom rack in the oven for about 20 minutes and spritzed them with water the first 10. I also brushed rolls with olive oil before baking and sprinkled some poppy seeds on them as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
I don't have a bread machine, so I processed these using my KitchenAid, and I let them sit for about an hour (didn't increase in size at all, unfortunately). After additional kneading (after that first hour), I don’t know if this is standard, but it took my rolls almost 3 hours to double in size! I was going to just throw in the towel after the first 40 minutes, but luckily my husband had an additional 2 hours of yard work to do. So, I set the baking sheets of rolls on my dishwasher (which had recently ran a load and was still quite warm) with the towel over them and took my time. Lo and behold, when I finally went to throw them in the oven, they had finally almost doubled in size. *LoL* Maybe it’s because we live in Phoenix and are already running our air conditioning throughout the house (set to about 80 degrees)? Who knows. Overall, they were very yummy, even though they didn’t raise quite enough. We will definitely be eating them again! (For those wondering, the only thing I had to change (as we don’t use milk) is I changed the milk to water. I used a .25 ounce packet of active dry yeast, as per the instructions.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ms. Zuke

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Excellent recipe! Better than any store bought. I have discarded all my recipes for hamburger rolls and will be using this. Made exactly as written, no change needed. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Rizzitano

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Concord, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cherryfield, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2014
Had this in my file for awhile. I did not use my bread machine as I have not had great success with it. They came out very nicely with a good flavor and rise. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Grandma Kar

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Harpers Ferry, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2013
I found this to be really dense, kind of plain and not oniony enough. Kind of disappointed, but I might try it again, with modifications. For my first attempt, I used soy milk instead of water or milk. Also, after the dough cycle finished in the bread machine, I didn't take it out right way to shape the loaves because I was working on other things. I just left the dough ball in the bread machine for about 40 minutes, then took it out, shaped it, and put it in my convection oven/microwave for 180C (my oven only does increments of 10C degrees) for 20 minutes. It came out kind of pale, but that's probably because my oven just takes longer, even though convection ovens are supposed to bake things faster. To serve, I toasted it twice, and dipped it into warm, salted butter (kind of like a garlic knot, but with onions). Next time, I'll try following the directions more closely, and put more salt and onions for more flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Peggy Chen

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2013
This is an amazing and delicious recipe. I live in California and I found I needed about 1 and 1/8 cups of milk. The dough is too dry otherwise and will not rise. Don't know if anyone else has a problem with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
So simple to make and they taste wonderful. I made these yesterday. Used about two large onions and I felt it needed maybe one more. This dough is extremely sticky. Like one other reviewer, I gave up trying to form into balls and just emptied the dough into the pan. I couldn't even score it. Cooked it about 5 minutes and cut it before serving. Huge rolls and will freeze the rest.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2013
I made this as a loaf, not wanting to deal with shaping into rolls. I flung the ingredients into my bread maker and hit go. Four hours later, I was rewarded with a sturdy, slightly crusty loaf. It won't be great for PB&J, but for my boyfriend's daily ham sandwich, I imagine it'll be delish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New York, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2013
Very good, and very easy. I did have a bit of trouble getting mine to make bun shapes, so only two of them were actually round, but tasty all the same. I'll cut back a bit on the onion to my tastes next time. Used butter flavor shortening rather than butter because I'm lazy and butter was in the fridge. Used evaporated milk in the dough, as well as mixed with my egg white for topping. Dough is a treat to work with after the dough cycle, altho I did have to add a bit of milk to this during the mix cycle, but my flour is ultragrain, so it's a touch dry. Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi
Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2013
Before tasting,I thought these rolls looked and felt like they were going to be a little too dense to my liking. However, after tasting, I thought they were wonderful and worked very well for finger sandwiches, when cut in half. The flavor was spot on! Thanks for sharing, claudygirl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mi ~ (a PRO at) Being Mi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Alma, Michigan, USA
Living In: Topeka, Kansas, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 148) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Soft Dinner Rolls

Use your bread machine to make soft, buttery dinner rolls.

School Lunchroom Cafeteria Rolls

Super-easy rolls just like the ones the cafeteria ladies gave out!

Rosemary Pull-Apart Dinner Rolls

See how to make rosemary pull-apart rolls from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States