Soft Oatmeal Raisin Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2007
These were a little too chewy for us...they were almost doughy, no matter how long we cooked them. They would be perfect if that's how you like your oatmeal raisin cookies, just not quite what we were looking for.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHANDO6116

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2007
I don't consider them cookies though. I baked for 8 min but it was kind of puffy , muffin-liked. So I baked 12 mim more to get them more crispy outside. The taste is not bad, but it's just NOT cookies.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nuntiya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2007
These Are Excellently soft. Only takes 8 minutes when you make big tablespoon sizes. I dropped them about 1-2 inches apart , but they did not spread. I also had to use strawberry yogurt, and you couldn't taste the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Festus, Missouri, USA
Living In: Crystal City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
I've made these "cookies" several times and they always turn out the same. They're not horrible, but I don't think you can call these cookies. They turn out extremely puffy, no matter how much I try to flatten them before putting them into the oven. When they cool, there's weird shiny glaze on them. I've tried cutting back on the sugar to see if that was the problem, but the glaze is still there. I agree that the cooking time needs to be longer. I don't think I'll be making these again - I'd rather eat my yogurt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
Well, this recipe was a good starting point but I made/would have made a lot of changes. To start with I added 1tsp cinnamon, and didn't bother with the salt, butter buds or vanilla extract. I also used all brown sugar instead of some of each. The cookies took over 15 mins to bake and were still just starting to brown on top. I know ff cooking doesn't tend to brown as attractively as recipes that use butte/marg, but I did think the cooking time was a bit short. After tasting them, I will make the following changes next time: using more oats and less flour, as I thought the oats were a bit lost; using a dah of ground mixed spice in addition to the cinnamon I added and baking them for 20 mins. They weren't horrible, but were extremely average.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FADEDDREAMS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Braintree, Essex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2004
These are very good for being so low in fat. Definitely chewy, and they have the "bite-able" texture I look for in an oatmeal cookie (cross between a chewy granola bar and a cookie), but they just weren't fantastic enough to warrant 5 stars in my book. Watch the bottoms, they burn easily!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
This recipe has become my favorite cookie recipes...and I don't like to bake. I use the recipe as is --- or omit the fake butter flakes (becuase I don't buy) and add whatever nuts I can find....my two boys and my neighbors love these cookies! FAB!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2004
I tried this out, and I wasnt' very happy with the flavor or texture of the cookie. They were pretty bland
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
Used non-fat yogurt and also used half whole wheat flour, half all purpose flour and they came out pretty good! Also boiled the raisins for 2-3 minutes first to soften them even more as I like a good, chewy cookie. Considering there is no fat in these, they are quite tasty. Anyone on Weight Watchers will love these cookies as one cookie has only 1 point!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LLYONS56

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
Absolutely great! They are chewy, soft, & tasty. Low fat...but don't have a low fat taste...they taste 'real'. My friends ate them up, couldn't believe they were low fat, and wanted the recipe right away. The cookies are also very easy to make. Defintely recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States