Soft Oatmeal Raisin Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
This cookie is delicious with some modifications. I used all whole wheat flour, doubled the yogurt (used low fat vanilla), halfed the sugar to 1/2 cup since the yogurt is already sweetened (used only brown sugar), used 1 whole egg rather than 2 egg whites (why waste it?), and skipped the butter flavored granules. Instead of adding in my oatmeal and raisins last, I stirred it in with my wet ingredients before adding the flour mixture to absorb some moisture. To make up for the butter flavor, I would use butter-flavored non stick spray. I had to bake mine for 11 minutes to get them cooked through and they were just a bit more than a tbs per cookie. After baking, I let them sit on the baking sheet for about 3 minutes so they can be chewy. Put them in the fridge and they will stay moist and will be chewy. They actually taste better the next day! Hope my review helped! =D
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MunchiesDepudged

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2003
If you're reading this review, that means you're in the mood for a soft oatmeal cookie- so get baking! These are exactly what I always thought oatmeal cookies should be like- moist, chewy, mmmmm mmmmm good. I used peach flavored yogurt- the whole 8 oz. of it- and I felt like I was eating peach oatmeal in delicious cookie form. I can't believe it's not butter in these. My fiance loved them- and he thought I was lying when I told him there was no butter. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2003
Absolutely great! They are chewy, soft, & tasty. Low fat...but don't have a low fat taste...they taste 'real'. My friends ate them up, couldn't believe they were low fat, and wanted the recipe right away. The cookies are also very easy to make. Defintely recommend.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 27, 2000
I have never seen a cookie recipe like this one, using yogurt and butter buds. I was a little apprehensive at first, but figured I would try it out for my parents, who love lo-fat stuff. This cookie is great! I used less vanilla, and thought that was better. These cookies are so soft, moist, and almost like a cake. They are best if eaten 5 minutes after being taken out of oven. Nice recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2004
This recipe has become my favorite cookie recipes...and I don't like to bake. I use the recipe as is --- or omit the fake butter flakes (becuase I don't buy) and add whatever nuts I can find....my two boys and my neighbors love these cookies! FAB!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2005
Well, this recipe was a good starting point but I made/would have made a lot of changes. To start with I added 1tsp cinnamon, and didn't bother with the salt, butter buds or vanilla extract. I also used all brown sugar instead of some of each. The cookies took over 15 mins to bake and were still just starting to brown on top. I know ff cooking doesn't tend to brown as attractively as recipes that use butte/marg, but I did think the cooking time was a bit short. After tasting them, I will make the following changes next time: using more oats and less flour, as I thought the oats were a bit lost; using a dah of ground mixed spice in addition to the cinnamon I added and baking them for 20 mins. They weren't horrible, but were extremely average.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by FADEDDREAMS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Braintree, Essex, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 15, 2005
I've made these "cookies" several times and they always turn out the same. They're not horrible, but I don't think you can call these cookies. They turn out extremely puffy, no matter how much I try to flatten them before putting them into the oven. When they cool, there's weird shiny glaze on them. I've tried cutting back on the sugar to see if that was the problem, but the glaze is still there. I agree that the cooking time needs to be longer. I don't think I'll be making these again - I'd rather eat my yogurt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2009
I love this cookie. I increased the yogart to 8oz of fat free, used an atrificial sweetner instead of the 1/2 cup of granular sugar and added 3/4 cup of walnuts. I also added 1/2 cup of milled flax seed. This did not alter the taste but made it more healthy. These changes produced a better, healthier cookie,
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2004
These are very good for being so low in fat. Definitely chewy, and they have the "bite-able" texture I look for in an oatmeal cookie (cross between a chewy granola bar and a cookie), but they just weren't fantastic enough to warrant 5 stars in my book. Watch the bottoms, they burn easily!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 17, 2003
Used non-fat yogurt and also used half whole wheat flour, half all purpose flour and they came out pretty good! Also boiled the raisins for 2-3 minutes first to soften them even more as I like a good, chewy cookie. Considering there is no fat in these, they are quite tasty. Anyone on Weight Watchers will love these cookies as one cookie has only 1 point!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LLYONS56

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Beth's Spicy Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

These chewy oatmeal raisin cookies are spiced with cinnamon and cloves.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies I

Make these classic cookies to sweeten any occasion.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States