Soft-N-Fluffy Hamburger Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
I have made these twice - the first time following the recipe exactly as written and directed and the second time making a few changes. If you're looking for a very soft hamburger bun, closer to the kind you get at the store, these are good but as was reviewed by others, it will have a tough time holding together something juicy - as did mine the first time I baked and used for burgers. They would make a great bun for a sandwich and the especially the kids would love this recipe as it's alot like store buns - which is one reason I didn't rate higher above average. The reason I bake is because I don't want store bought taste, but if you like that, then these buns are great. These would make an excellent dinner roll too. The other reason for the average rating is the ingredient Vital Wheat Gluten. This ingredient is not at all necessary in this recipe and is mainly used to lighten texture in whole grains or heavy wheat breads, so I left it out the second time around. Instead, I added a beaten egg white (use a wire wisk, beat until foamy). It added a great texture. I also used butter instead of the oil and slightly warmed milk instead of the water. Made the buns richer in flavor. Also, I used instant yeast and didn't have to pre activate the yeast, I just tossed it all in my kitchen aid, gave it a rise, shape and rise.. then baked at 400 degrees for 12 minutes in order to achieve better color. BTW, using instant yeast gives a much nicer rise. Posted a couple pics.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
202 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LemonLush

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Editor's Note: The sugar ingredient in this recipe was edited and now correctly reads 1 tablespoon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by tanya
Reviewed: May 15, 2010
Wonderful!!! I made these yesterday to serve hamburgers on. I did not need twelve of them so I made a half recipe. I only got 4 out of it. While making the half recipe in the bread machine the dough sucked the paddle of the bottom, so I took the dough and and let it finish rising. I thought the dough seemed a little stiff. So I got scared and started another batch. I decided to try a full recipe but had to use mostly wheat flour.( I did add more gluten) The full recipe made about 7 rolls. I think you would only get 12 if you made dinner rolls/sliders. The funny thing is that both attempts came out fantastic!!! I thought I was going to have to freeze some... but nope.My 4 yr old ate 2 yesterday. I also made a sandwich for lunch yesterday with one and plan on doing that again today.I will be making these again and soon because they are almost gone!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tanya

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Carmichael, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2010
Sorry, the crumb on these buns was not substantial and they fell apart under a juicy burger with toppings. Might be ok for a slider or a hot dog, but not if you want a burger with all the fixings. The juiciness kind of melted the bun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefSuzie

Cooking Level: Professional

Reviewed: May 21, 2010
I have never used wheat gluten with white flour before, this made for a very light texture. I used 2 1/2 cups of flour and made 8 hamburger size buns. But they were too sweet to eat with burgers. I will toast them with plain cinnamon or use them to make bread pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2010
I made these using my stand mixer by proofing the yeast in the warm water with just 1 tbs. of sugar then adding the oil. I added the flour (1/2 AP, 1/2 WW) mixed with the vital wheat gluten and salt 1 cup at a time and used about 3 1/4 cups to get a lovely soft dough. I got 10 nice size rolls. This is a keeper thanks WFDM!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BigShotsMom

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Long Island, New York, USA
Living In: Long Beach, New York, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2011
These Buns are the best. I make them year round, but LOTS in the summer. I make them into hotdog buns and for burgers. Why buy at the store what you can make so much better Thanks to What's for dinner, Mom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Toni Jo Fire Eating Pro

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Prineville, Oregon, USA
Living In: Grants Pass, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: May 20, 2010
Great recipe the only change I would make is to cut down the amount of sugar. Rolls had a sweet taste which I don't really want on my hamburger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sweettreats
Home Town: Orangevale, California, USA
Living In: Antelope, California, USA
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
This is a good utilitarian sandwich roll. I did add an extra tablespoon of sugar to the recipe to get what I was looking for. I crowded the small-sized rolls close together because I wanted to be able to slice them horizontally for Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches like my friend Anita used to make. This recipe worked well. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I have now made these buns 3 or 4 times and have to say that they are the best buns ever. I don't understand the comments that these will not stand up to a hamburger. Every time that I have made them I used them for hamburgers and they were perfectly fine. They did not fall/break apart and held up until the last bite. I should say though that when I make them I do not use the Vital Wheat Gluten. I have always made them using white AP or Bread flour so do not find the VWG necessary. Would certainly use it if replacing part of the white flour with whole wheat. Thanks WFDM for posting this recipe, it will remain my go to recipe for burger buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA

Displaying results 1-10 (of 96) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Burger or Hot Dog Buns

Simple homemade buns will add a gourmet twist to your next BBQ.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States