Soft-N-Fluffy Hamburger Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
I made these for the first time for the Midwest Roundup MB & I had. Since I was serving BBQ I thought a nice sandwich bun would be nice. I really liked how these buns turned out. The texture was exactly what I was looking for. This recipe is a keeper for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat Hill

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kansas City, Missouri, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
I skipped the vital wheat gluten. They turned out great! I will be making these again. They did not turn out brown though, but no big deal since I will probably toast them before using.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by August Kenza

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
These are great! I mixed the dough in my KitchenAid stand mixer and let the dough rise for 30 minutes and then shaped them and let them rise again for 45 minutes. I did shape these into smaller dinner rolls and they were the most light, fluffy, tender rolls ever! I will be making this into dinner rolls again for Thanksgiving. Thanks for sharing What's for dinner, mom! Great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
I have now made these buns 3 or 4 times and have to say that they are the best buns ever. I don't understand the comments that these will not stand up to a hamburger. Every time that I have made them I used them for hamburgers and they were perfectly fine. They did not fall/break apart and held up until the last bite. I should say though that when I make them I do not use the Vital Wheat Gluten. I have always made them using white AP or Bread flour so do not find the VWG necessary. Would certainly use it if replacing part of the white flour with whole wheat. Thanks WFDM for posting this recipe, it will remain my go to recipe for burger buns.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pelicangal

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brookings, Oregon, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
These are by far the best buns I have ever tasted. The only change I made was to use either olive or corn oil as a sub for the canola - I just don't like canola. I make them in my KA since I don't have a bread machine. I proof my yeast, water and sugar first. Then add the vital wheat gluten, oil,salt and flour; let it rise and proceed as directed in step 2. I spritz them with water while baking to crisp up the crust; they are delicious! It's important to use the vital wheat gluten - I think that's what makes these so good! Thank you for submitting such a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sugarbear4

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Kenosha, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Bassett, Wisconsin, USA
Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2010
This is a good utilitarian sandwich roll. I did add an extra tablespoon of sugar to the recipe to get what I was looking for. I crowded the small-sized rolls close together because I wanted to be able to slice them horizontally for Easy Ham and Cheese Appetizer Sandwiches like my friend Anita used to make. This recipe worked well. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marianne

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook
Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2010
Used the calculate function to bring it down to two servings, which ended being three servings...no worries. These were good, but I did make them using an egg white as one reviewer suggested, and milk instead of water. Next time I'll try to do the "as written" and add to this review. This time I sprinkled some cracked pepper onto the buns before baking since I can't have seeds...gave them a little something extra in the presentation department. Will post a pic later. [[Sorry it took me SO long to get to these!]] However, worth the wait. // Okay...tonight (the very next week!!!) I made the "as written" version...water/oil vs. milk/butter. The dough was a little stiff, but it rose fine, and the resulting bread was good. i think I need to perfect my shaping these...had better luck with my first batch, but WFDM, the resulting bun this time was plenty strong enough for a burger and tasted good. We are likely going to eat them as rolls...partly because I did not quite flatten enough. Will do these again. Thank you for posting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hezzy_tant_Cook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Starnene
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2010
Do not alter recipe. My first batch I followed one of the reviews. Replace water for milk, oil for butter, and vwg for egg white. It did not rise well, was hard and did not taste good. I through it out. I followed the directions to a T and I got 4 beautiful buns, just the right size. I used one egg white to brush onto two of them and added sesame seeds. See photo. They taste good and will go good with my own ground up beef steak for hamburgers tonight. Recipe from America's Test Kitchen "Best Old-Fashioned Burgers".
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Starnene

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Santa Fe, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 21, 2010
These buns are fantastic! It took me a couple tries to get them right, but now they will be a regular at my house. They are even just as soft the next day. Thank you for a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sheryl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Stephen, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2010
I've made these twice- first as buns, the second time as dinner rolls. The crumb is too tender for use as a hamburger bun, but they make the most wonderfully soft, cloud-like dinner rolls- just brush with butter straight out of the oven to keep 'em soft. Thanks for sharing this recipe, WFDM- I will make these again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Citrus Punch
Home Town: Wilton, Iowa, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States