Soft-N-Fluffy Hamburger Buns Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2012
They turned out just as fluffy and soft as described, but pretty tiny. The batch I just made are big enough to be rolls, but not buns. I'll definitely make them again, but I'll be making fewer buns with this amount of dough. Either way, nice texture. I don't have a bread machine, so I just proofed the yeast with the water and sugar, then used my Kitchen Aid mixer to mix in the flour, Vital Wheat Gluten, salt, and oil (I used olive), and used the dough hook for about 5 minutes, then let them rest about 45 minutes before shaping them. Update: I made a half batch and got 4 standard sized burger buns. Ps; when these are fresh out of the oven they melt in your mouth! Wow! Can't get the tops to brown like I want, but it's not like the uniform whiteness compromises the flavour or anything, so I'm not too worried about it. But next time I'll try brushing them with a little milk to see if I can get the look I want. (new update: the milk hardly browned them at all. But I'm fine with white buns. No biggie!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lulu

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2012
I really like these, can be used for many types of sandwiches, burgers and hot dogs
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Just OK. Not special enough to make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2012
I made this recipe exactly as the author listed it, except that I also added in 1/2 C shredded cheddar and about a 1/2 tsp garlic powder. These are so soft and fluffy! They are named perfectly. We'll be making these over and over again. Thank you for a lovely recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2012
They were exactly like their name: soft and fluffy! I followed the directions except for adding wheat gluten, and they turned out perfect. Light, fluffy, and browned slightly on top and sides. I baked mine on a silicone baking sheet on the middle rack, and the bottoms were pretty white, but done. So if you want a little brown on the bottom, I would move my rack down one. As for taste, they reminded me a store bun: very subtle flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
I pressed mine down too hard & they were a bit too flat to be called "buns" however they were still soft on the inside. I wonder if this recipe could benefit from the usage of BREAD flour instead of AP flour, if so then what would the amount of yeast change to? Edit: I didn't add the wheat gluten, that must be one of the reasons I consider them a half fail or a C+ in rating.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JGo555

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 1, 2012
Very easy to make and delicious but mine did not brown. I went 12 mins then 2 more, then spritzed with butter flavor cooking spray and 4 more. Just started getting a light golden color but then had to be pulled. They were still soft though so maybe 12 mins is not long enough at 350? Anyway thanks for the recipe, will save this one! Used for sliders!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYDadCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Webster, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
this one has been my favorite bun/roll recipe yet
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2011
awesome, awesome, awesome! This is the first bread recipe that I've made and my husband actually made a request for more!! I skipped the wheat gluten because I didn't have any and still awesome! I made them the first time for burgers and made them again today for lunch sandwiches!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pmb1882

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2011
Amazing! I really may never buy buns at the store again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mindischwab

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 95) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Hamburger Buns

See how to make your own homemade hamburger buns.

Split-Top Hot Dog Buns

See how to make perfect, buttery homemade hot dog buns with toasted sides.

Ooey-Gooey Cinnamon Buns

These amazing sticky buns are topped with pecans and a luscious caramel sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States