Soft Molasses Cookies V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 13, 2010
These cookies are wonderful! I just made them as part of my christmas cookies and they are very popular! I baked them with colored sugar to make them look festive, but other than that I followed the recipe exactly. These will not stay soft if you put in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Genoa, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2010
These cookies are amazing. Very soft. I didn't alter the recipe at all. By far the best molasses cookie recipie I've come across!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
These are now my favorite cookies. Everyone I shared them with loved them and said they were one of the best cookies that they have ever tasted and much better than store bought cookies. Because my spice rack was getting a little empty, I did add a bit more cinnamon and some allspice to compensate for the wee bit of ginger I had. I also added one shake of black pepper and one drop of anise extract just to be crazy. I made some that were bigger - I took a ball of dough the size of a big walnut, flattened it so it was about 1/2 inch think and 2 inches round, dipped one side of it into white sugar and then then baked it. These turned out about the size of store bought cookies. I also made some smaller ones. I took dough about the size of my thumb tip, rolled it into a ball, rolled the entire ball in sugar and then baked them. These turn out about the size of store bought gingersnaps. These cookies are perfect for Thanksgiving and Christmas. And, I imagine Hannakah and Kwanza, too. I just made these yesterday and I already have to make another batch because they are already gone. So, they are a good "everyday" cookie as well. Enjoy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I wanted a soft cookie and this was it. I did add more spices and a pinch of salt (hence the four stars instead of five) but otherwise followed the recipe. Rolling the balls in sugar was a great idea (from another reviewer). There is no need to press the balls down as someone did; they will flatten properly on their own. I baked for 11 minutes and they were perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ronalyn

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Katy, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2010
I took the suggestions of others and decreased the baking soda to 1 1/2 tsp, increased the cinnamon to 1 tsp, and added 1/2 tsp of cloves. They were incredible! Unbelievably soft, moist, and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
this dough is very sticky and hard to make into balls. these cookies turned out to be more cake-like than i was expecting. the molasses flavor could have been stronger but they were nice and fluffy and very soft. if you want a subtle molasses flavor, these are the the cookies for you. this isn't a recipe i would make again but fun to try anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2010
As with most readers, I loved these! I followed the recipe just about exactly-- only adding a little extra baking soda cause I like my cookies to be less flat and more airy/cakey. I would suggest refrigerating OVERNIGHT as it makes a huge difference in how they bake-- mine came out like happy little mounds of molasses goodness. :) Lastly-- used the melonballer trick from another user and it was awesome. Such consistent sized cookies! Roll them in fun colored sugar FTW!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Leigh

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2010
Terrible recipe. The molasses flavor in this is so overpowering and bitter. The cookie is soft and has perfect texture, but is impossible to eat...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2010
These turned out nice and soft. I added a 1/2 tsp of cloves and they were prefect!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2010
my husband loves these, they were real easy to make, I will be making these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jean Yousofian

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Milford, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 139) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Soft Christmas Cookies

Buttery sugar cookies perfect for the holidays or any occasion.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States