Soft Molasses Cookies V Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2012
This is my first time making these cookies. Super simple to make! I always have trouble getting a cookie to stay soft, but not these! I was out of ginger so used extra cinnamon & allspice to make the difference, plus I added some fresh grated nutmeg and tiny bit of grated lemon rind, just because it was there in front of me. Oh and I was short on molassas by a quarter cup, so made up the difference with brown sugar and about 3 TBLSP of water I put in the molassas jar to get all I could. Then I rolled them in cinnamon/sugar. Not only are the cookies still soft(yeah!), they are big and super tasty. I am very confident they are even better with the correct ingredients. Thanks for sharing this recipe. It will be my go to ginger/molassas cookie in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Peru, Kansas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2012
Dang. These were so hard to enjoy, however I do not think it is because of the recipe, I think that I used an incorrect type of molasses (cooking molasses), perhaps I used a type that was a little stronger because mine had an insanely strong aroma and taste of molassses which was extremely unpleasant! I had to separately bake 3 batches as I only had 1 cookie sheet. The 3rd batch I topped with some sugar, which reduced about 40% of the molasses flavour however still distinctable. And yes, i did follow the recipe, everything down to the teaspoon. Very upset my cookies turned out bad =(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
This was a nightmare recipe... even when I added the amount of flour it called for the batter was sticky and too wet and after adding an additional cup of flower and chilling, I baked them and they spread out bad and even after cooking for 12-14 minutes they were wet inside and wanted to fall apart. From now on I think I am going to stick to the recipe on the back of the molasses jar!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sunshine61967

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2012
these taste good, but i wouldnt call them spicy. they are not too sweet, so it's good for those who dont want too sweet. i would do this again but add more spices. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Cardin

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2012
I didn't think this had enough spice and they were too cake like for me.. soft but too much flour. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bartmas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2012
Fantastic cookies! Thank you Sal. I've been looking for a really good recipe for soft molasses cookies for some time now and I've found it! I'm going have to double the recipe because this batch barely lasted 3 days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2012
Excellent recipe ... my kids are saying these are the best cookies I've ever made! Yumm ... super soft and delicious. I also rolled them in sugar before baking. Very pretty when they came out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grimsby, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2012
These were super soft and had good taste. I did not refriferat the dough at all and still had an easy time rolling it into balls. I am used to a bigger cookie though, so next time I will make them a good golf ball size. I added raisins and a touch of ground cloves for extra flavor and texture. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2012
These are the yummiest cookies ever! I added 1/2 tsp of all~ spice along with the cinnamon and also 1/2 tsp cloves instead of the ginger. I rolled them in sugar before baking. My oven took 13 minutes to cook. They are so soft and sooooo delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2011
WELL, they definetly are cookies and soft/cakelike in nature. THAT'S ABOUT ALL! very bland (even tho i added 1/2 as much .seasoning as recommended a waste of good molasses and flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 136) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Soft Oatmeal Cookies

See a top-rated recipe for soft, chewy oatmeal cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States