Soft Molasses Cookies III Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2000
We ended up throwing all but two cookies away. The cookies were cakey and tasted terrible. I would not recommend this recipe to anyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2002
The cookies were yummy. So good my sister wants the recipe. Barb from California
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2005
Flavourful! Disappeared quickly in my house. Thank for sharing this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Charlotte

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2005
These are the best molasses cookies I have ever made or tasted. My family will be making these more often!!! Thank you
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2006
I bake cookies all the time and can usually choose good recipes for them but not this time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sheocon

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 7, 2008
Note to those that already tried this recipe and were disappointed: If the cookies were too tough or cakey, try using less flour as instructed in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2008
A family favorite for generations. My grandma made a cut out cookie, placed a big old flattened raisin (hard to find nowadays)in the middle, then sprinkled with sugar, delicious. The first time I made them (I was in my 20s) and new to making cookies, I doubled the recipe and had cookies on every flat surface of my house. But all the neighbors couldn't get enough of them. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 8, 2010
I made some changes to this recipe, and they came out GREAT! I used soy flour instead of regular flour (and 8 cups instead of 9), butter instead of shortening, added another 1/2 cup of buttermilk and an egg. NOTE: If you want sweet molasses sugar cookies, you will not like these. This recipe will make soft, flavorful molasses cookies that are not too sweet. Taste the batter before you bake them. If you think it needs more sugar, add more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 4, 2013
Quite good and well liked by the family. Lots of flavor. To avoid too much of a 'cakey' texture, just added flour until the dough was workable (a little stiff, but still pretty moist) and didn't overmix. Didn't cut, but the "golfball" size as recommended in the recipe made impressively big cookies. I would probably go much smaller next time and flatten more. Very soft and chewy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Molasses Cookies

See how to make chewy, spicy, crackle-top molasses cookies.

Award-Winning Soft Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to bake a top-rated chocolate chip cookie.

Big Soft Ginger Cookies

Make these 5-star ginger cookies for Christmas—or any time.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States